We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it and will return again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Villas Mauna Lani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Villas Mauna Lani
Save
You added Golf Villas Mauna Lani to your Saves list
68-1310 Mauna Lani Dr, Mauna Lani, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love it and will return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We had a great time at the Golf Villas. My family of four (6 and 10 yr. old) stayed at J1, a 2 bedroom condo and could not be happier. This was our third time on the Big Island; the first two we stayed at the Palm Villas. Although the Golf Villas lacked the interesting lava cave-lined path to the beach, we found that it was way quieter and the people more family friendly. We loved the beach club and spent many lazy days there. On our first two days, there was a pod of dolphins that hung around just at the ocean break. I rented a stand-up paddle board and we watched the dolphins jump out and play tricks.
The snorkeling at this beach is unparalleled, even comparing it to the Place of Refuge, which is suppose to be spectacular. What I love is how we can walk from the club through ancient fish ponds toward the Mauna Lani Resort where lots of lots of giant sea turtles laze about in the sun.
The beach club restaurant changed owners and it's a bit pricey. Better to buy your lunch at Foodland and bring it down. Oh and make sure to come early in the morning so you can get a cabana seat or beach chairs. If you come later, you'll just have to sit on the sand or the grass, which is okay too if you don't mind that.
We have booked our Hawaii (Maui and BI) condos through www.vrbo.com and have always been pleased. Make sure to pay only by credit card and seek liberal refund policy. One year we had our trip cancelled due to a snow storm but the condo owner gladly credited us the unused days for a March trip we took the following year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

we usually stay at hotels but since we have the entire family, we decided to rent a villa at Mauna Lani golf villas. I can honestly say that this was the most relaxing vacation that I've ever been on! we stayed at C2-it's 3 br 3 baths so everyone gets their own room. Upgraded kitchen, large lanai for dining (plus grill), and spectacular view of golf course. Oh there''s also a den with 2 desk and free internet. The owners Rick & Kim provided lots of 'extras' for their guests to use: children's books, dvds, toys. And for adults: dvd, books, 2 bikes, snorkel gear and much more. There's a fitness room and pool but we never used it.

The entire Mauna lani area is quiet and upscale-I like the fact that you don't bump into many people so you really feel like you're getting away from it all. The use of teh private beach club is awesome too. Calm water, grat for kids and snorkeling.

I can't wait to go back to BI and stay at C2 at Mauna Lani. Totally recommend it!

maunalanigolfvilla.com

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

we rented townhouse C2 direct from the owners on VRBO and could not have been happier. The house was beautiful, clean, comfy, big screen and several flat screens. All the accessories we could have needed. The owners were great, very helpful and very easy to deal with. My husband and I had our own room with cal-king bed, our teenage son had his own room. Use and parking at the private beach club-which is probably one of the best places to snorkel and relax anywhere in the islands. I don't see us ever staying in a hotel again when we can have so much room to spread out for less than what we would pay for one room at a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Found the condo #O23 on VRBO. We were looking for 3 BR in the Mauna Lani area, and wanted to use the Beach Club. The 3rd BR is actually a loft, but was fine. The nightly price was good, but the cleaning fee ($199) was a lot for 3 nights! There were a couple surprises with the condo. First, it is all upstairs, and the lanai is small and doesn't have a BBQ like most of them do. However, the public BBQ is across the street near the pool, so it wasn't really a problem-just not what I expected. There were only 4 beach towels for 6 of us, and a few beach toys/chairs in the garage for use. The condo was beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed our stay there. The kitchen had some spices and condiments left by others, which was handy. The snorkeling at the Beach Club was fabulous! It was nice to be able to get drinks or food right there also. Foodland at the Shops at Mauna Lani was very convenient for groceries, and not too expensive. This is a very dark, quiet area, and the stars at night are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010 via mobile

The house itself that we stayed at was great. Right near the beautiful golf course and had a nice backyard. 3br 3bath I went with my husband and 3 kids for a week. The rooms and bathrooms were excellent. Lots of space. I am still toty confused by the beach club. We went to the beach, but there was no towel service, snackbar or beautiful beach. Just a below average beach and ok resturant. I did likethe house though. It was close to lots of beaches and had a nice grass area in front and back for the kids. Awesome firepit outside with chairs, and great built in bbq. Stay at the golf villas . Amazing pool for al guests too.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I just wrote a very long review of Unit 3C and its delightful owners, Odette and Mike Gregg, which I managed to lose when trying to submit it to Tripadvisor. I am not going to retype the whole thing, This townhouse is beautiful, located on a beautiful golf course on what has to be one of the most beautiful islands on earth. Even the weather was sunnier than any place on the rest of the island, including Kona, while we were there. You will love this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

A tale of two accommodations. After 31 years of travels to hotels on the Big Island of Hawaii, we booked a condo through the website VRBO (vacation rentals by owner). Our past few trips to high end hotels on the Kohala Coast had been marked by not so pleasant experiences with unruly children running around the restaurants and pool. We were looking for calm and quiet, which is what led us to Golf Villas M3. The description said that because of high end furnishings, children were not allowed in this unit. A call to the owners Dave & Wendi Wasson, convinced us to book their two bedroom unit. The booking went flawlessly, and off to Hawaii we went. Upon checking into the unit on Friday March 3rd, we were greatly impressed. The unit was beautifully appointed and quiet. The kitchen was fantastic, with every kitchen tool and appliance at the ready. There was lightning fast wi-fi and a flat screen TV. The per night cost of M3, was a bit more than some of the other units at the Golf Villas, but in the end you get what you pay for, and this unit was perfect. We had made the right choice. We went out for dinner that Friday night, and returned to the condo about 10pm, to learn that there had been an earthquake in Chile. The TV news person said that there might be a tsunami warning issued for the Islands. We went to bed, only to be jarred awake at 600am by the civil defense sirens. A call to the local police said the evacuation center was being set up in a school up the mountain in the town of Waimea. A few minutes later the doorbell rang, and the complex manager informed us we had to get out of Dodge. A quick look at my email as we were packing showed an email from Wendi. She told us to get our stuff and head up to their bed and breakfast “Honu-Kai” located high up the mountain away from the tsunami zone. The evacuation out of the Mauna Lani resort was calm and very organized, as we headed out to the Queen’s Highway, the local police were in the process of setting up road blocks to all of the beaches. When we arrived at Honu Kai, Wendi was in the process of serving a fantastic breakfast to her guests and invited us to join in. After breakfast we had a tour of their beautiful property, and then sat down to watch the events unfold on the TV. During the “tsunami watch”, Wendi and Dave also put together an impromptu lunch. In the end it was a non-event, but the care and concern shown by Dave and Wendi was something that my wife and I will never forget. When the all clear was sounded about 3pm, we headed back to the condo and had a wonderful week at the Golf Villas. Ultimately we enjoyed both of Dave and Wendi’s properties. If you’re looking for a B&B experience on the Big Island, stay at Honu Kai. If you want the condo experience, closer to the ocean stay at Golf Villas M3.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Villas Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Villas Mauna Lani

Address: 68-1310 Mauna Lani Dr, Mauna Lani, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Waimea
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golf Villas Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Villas Mauna Lani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.