We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun activity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waipio Na'alapa Trail

Waipio Na'alapa Trail
P.O. Box 437185, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-775-0419
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Waimea
Activities: Horseback riding
Attraction details
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fun activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have been on this tour a couple times and throughly enjoyed both rides. The horses were very well behaved and the guide was interesting and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, charming location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We walked down the trail to Waipio Valley, but we took advantage of the ride going back up. It is an amazing place. You almost forget you are right next to the ocean. The valley is so lush, green, moist (it gets a lot of rain), and the sounds you hear are waterfalls, rivers, and birds. It is a peaceful place.

Your feet/shoes do get wet...you want good walking shoes, but something that will wash and dry off later. From down in the valley you can walk to the Black Sand Beach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went intending only to see the view from the top. Once there we decided to take the hike down to the valley and black sand beach below. The walk down wasn't too bad at all and well worth the time we spent hiking down. Right before we made it to the beach a local was nice enough to offer us a ride in the back of his pick up. Turned out the local was the executive chef at the Mariott Waikoloa Beach he was such a great guy, he gave us his telephone number and invited us to attend a Luau at the Mariott. Back to the beach and valley, lol. To say it is breath taking really doesn't do it justice. Both the beach and valley truly put nature in perspective. We spent about an hour on the beach just taking it all in, came across wild horses that were very friendly and walked right up to you. Once we left the beach we walked on the other side of the valley it was just stunning to say the least. Had we dressed appropriately we would have walked all the way across to the waterfall but to get there you have to cross a river (which reaches up to your neck) we weren't dressed to do so. Heading back up the trail to the top was extremely taxing, lol. Especially for someone not in peak condition or physically fit. I'd say I'm generally moderately active but that dang ascencion up that steep hill dang near killed me, lol. I made it about 3/4 th way up the hill and gave up. I hitch hiked for the first time in my life, lol.. Just so happened a local was heading up in his truck and happily offered my husband a ride to the top. His words "the trek back up is killer isn't it" he couldn't of stated it more truthfully. FYI there are often time people at the beach that will gladly give you a ride back up and they refuse to take your money for doing so. Don't be ashamed to ask for a lift back to the top, your knees will thank you, lol.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Switch back views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Didn't get the chance to go into valley, stayed up top on the parking area, quiet in the late afternoons. Just to sit and hear the surf is what I came to do.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great walk, fantastic black sand beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Take shoes that can handle water, like Teva's. You will want them to cross the stream either on the beach or as you walk into the valley a ways.
The road actuall goes into a stream for a while (~150 yards), but continues on after.
The black sand is so soft, feels really good on your feet.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipio Na'alapa Trail also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Island of Hawaii, HI
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waipio Na'alapa Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipio Na'alapa Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.