We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced/Uncomfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waipio Wayside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waipio Wayside B&B
Save
You added Waipio Wayside B&B to your Saves list
46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Road, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Traverse City, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced/Uncomfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

My fiancée and I booked the Waipio Wayside for two nights in February. It is in a good location because it is in between Honokoa and Waipio Valley. This place wasn't bad, but I'd say just a notch above a hostel. First of all, when we arrived we had to walk under/through a jungle of gnarly spider webs, just to get to the front door. I stood there looking at the path for a minute, wondering if I could get through with out getting webbed in the face. Not a good first impression. We stayed in the Library Room. The bed was REALLY hard and the pillows sucked and we had a horrible nights sleep. The bathroom is tiny (like the size of a cruise ship bathroom) and there is 1 small window facing the back yard. There is another window over the bed which we couldn't open due to the noise of the road out front. Also, the house is old and the walls are thin, so you can hear everything going on in the kitchen underneath this rooms. Not much privacy.

The breakfast was amazing and the Innkeeper, Jackie, was very interesting and helpful to talk to. She made macadamia nut muffins and yummy eggs and fresh juice. It was really good. When we told her we would not be staying the second night because we slept so poorly and wanted to find somewhere else to stay, she was clearly irritated and ended up charging us $192, after tax, for the 1 nights stay. That was the worst $192 we have ever spent. I would not recommend paying more than $100 for this place, max. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    17
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
94
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Of all B&Bs we have experienced in our 3 weeks trip, this is by far the most beautiful and cared for.
Everything is perfect: from the beutifully embroidered bed covers, to the soft towels and bathrobes, to the perfectly restored antique furniture, the garden... everything shows the passion and exeprience of the owner.
Everything is chosen to be in Harmony with the evironment and all cleaning products are ecological, to avoid water and earth pollution.
Breakfast was unforgettable: high quality, well cooked food of all kinds (enough to survive until dinner!) with some house specialties that changed everyday.
At night there is a total silence: even if we were 8 guests, we could not hear anything, nor running water or steps.. just a wanderful silence for a great night of sleep in confortable clena and fresh beds.
The garden and the Lanai are also a paradise on earth.
It is worth all the money it cost: the best experience we have had.
The owner also helped us to plan our trip to the next island with the help of a lot of book about hawaii. I would suggest it to anyone who like beauty, relaxation ,attention to details.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the "Chinese room" with en suite bath. The room was decorated with antiques, the bed being one of them (mattress was comffortable, and for being only a double, it was fine for two fit people).
The grounds were great, with a large deck with hammock (for two) and tables/chairs for use. The domestic cats added some comic relief and a "sweet" touch.

Jacqueline, the owner and inn-keeper, has excellent knowledge about what to do on the island and can provide insight with any questions you have. Before staying here, I read reviews that she is cold but after staying here for two nights, I believe those couple of reviewers have been mistaken. In fact, I found Jacqueline to have strong opinions but an open-mind and a tender heart- a true humanist.

This is a traditional B&B in an older, wonderful home (built in 1938). You can hear people walking above you, or talking in the next room...the way homes were built in that age. The B&B is not "romantic" in the Hollywood sense of the word, but it is romantic in the true sense of the word. Appreciate it for what it is, and your experience will be positive and rewarding.
We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We initially planned to stay at the only hotel in town but that turned out to be full due to a concert taking place that evening. Fortunately a double room was available at this upmarket b & b just a few miles outside of the main centre. A very international mix of guests were present at the shared breakfast the following morning and it was clear from the guest book that many people are frequent return visitors. If you are on a budget it is expensive but well worth a splurge for a night's comfort.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The innkeeper is a top factor in the success of a B&B (obviously), and Jacqueline could give how-to lessons to new innkeepers. She's resourceful, attentive to her customers, and serves wonderful breakfasts. She has wide-ranging interests & travel experiences and is a great conversant (but doesn't interfere in your time). Lots of books and CDs on Hawaii, and two delightful cats. Our spacious room was delightful with a big pleasant bathroom. Take time to walk through the gardens.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Ginger and I are repeat visitors, and each time we get here we find the cares and concerns of the outer world sliding right off us. Waipio Wayside is a peaceful, serene setting, with a lanai and gazebo that look out over the blue Pacific. Breakfasts are incredible, with gourmet-quality selections of island fruits melding with traditional Americana. The guests we breakfast with typically are a fascinating eclectic mix of international travelers. Our hostess Jackie Horne is a thoughtful source of insight and information about the Big Island. This is the best place to stay in Hawaii!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We arrived quite soon but it wasn't a problem to leave our luggage there and leave for Waipio Valley. This B&B has really beautiful and stylish interior. In the morning we received great breakfast and spend good time with other visitors and our host. Owner's cats are lovely.

We stayed in Moon room. The bed there is not very large, the sounds of wild nature from surrounding forests were quite loud all night long and there was a strange scent when we entered the room or the first time. But those are just tiny inconveniences that didn't lower our overall great experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipio Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Wayside B&B

Address: 46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Road, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast is a traditional B&B located along the stunning Hamakua coast. Minutes from Waipio Valley, the Hawaiian valley of the Kings. Waipio Wayside is a relaxing retreat for those of you looking for "old Hawaii." We are happy to offer 5 bedrooms all with private bathroom. A great organic breakfast all with local ingredients and a tea bar open all of the time. WIFI, Hawaiian Library & DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Wayside B&B Honokaa, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipio Wayside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.