We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay near Waipio Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Ola Cottages

Luana Ola Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Ola Cottages
Save
You added Luana Ola Cottages to your Saves list
45-3474 Kawila St., P.O. Box 1967, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Princeton, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay near Waipio Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in the green cottage - an old plantation house that had been remodeled into an efficiency cottage. It was plenty of room for 2 people. It was neat and clean and the manager was very responsive to our needs. This is an older property that has some wear. But it also has a great view to the ocean, good resources (farmer's market, cafes) nearby, and is in a fairly quiet and tranquil setting. We enjoyed our stay and felt it was a good value.

Room Tip: Green and blue cottages are nearly identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for one night in the green cottage, and overall were very happy with our stay.

The cottage is clean and comfortable, and the view from the porch was wonderful. We also liked hearing the sound of cows and roosters while we sat on the porch -- this added to the relaxing feel of the place.

There's no stove, but rather a 2 burner portable cooker, which worked well. The owner also let us know that we were free to pick whatever fruit we wanted from the trees -- the tangerines were wonderful!

One unwelcome surprise was that before 8AM in the morning, the owner dropped by to take some measurements on our porch -- although we were up at the time, a short time earlier, we were not, and would have appreciated if he had come by a little later. I'd assume that was just a one-time thing, and not an ongoing problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a charming, little B&B and the view is SPECTACULAR! It is a quiet, relaxing spot that is pretty much midpoint between Hilo and Kona, so if you are doing a first trip to the Big Island, this is a great stopover. The cottage itself was very comfortable and a great value for the price. They had laundry and wifi so my husband and I were both able to catch up on some things. My favorite part was the tropical landscape. This is what I always dreamed Hawaii would look like: tropical fruits and flowers everywhere... fresh avocado and papaya. A lovely romantic getaway. I highly reccomend hiking Waipio valley while you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The setting of the cottage is beautiful and quiet, very relaxing. There's no breakfast or fixings provided. There are several geckos inside the cottage, and the manager says that "can't be helped since this is Hawaii," but that was not the case in any cottage I stayed in, including the other ones we stayed in that were in the rainforest. The cottage is small but comfortable, with good wireless. Sleep was a big issue: the vegetation has not been trimmed back, so palm fronds hitting the house due to the wind were loud and would have kept me awake--except that at about midnight, the smoke detector decided it needed a battery, and it chirped loudly all night, ruining my night's sleep any way. In fairness, it hadn't chirpedduring the day, and I assume the manager didn't know it would happen. A sleepless night on vacation is difficult nonetheless. Overall, a beautiful place that is well-priced, but with significant issues to be aware of. I would recommend it for those who don't mind geckos, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We'd stayed at the blue cottage before, and came back as part of our trip on our 20th anniversary. This time we stayed at the green cottage. (they're practically identical).

Once again, Sandy was a wonderful host. We love the tranquility of the location. It's tropical, quiet, beautiful view of the ocean below, and the peaceful town of Honoka'a. In season, you have fruit growing outside the condo.

It's a nice location for exploring the east side of the Big Island.

Room Tip: This is a tropical location. It is NOT a sterile hotel room. You might see lizards, geckos, and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the green cottage for 2 nights while exploring the Waipio Valley area. The cottage was very comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. While it could have been cleaner (ring in the tub and a few cobwebs), there were no bugs. We enjoyed relaxing out on the porch while looking out at the great ocean view. There are fruit trees on the property and guests are welcome to pick what they want (we had fresh picked oranges with our breakfast in the morning). They no longer provide breakfast but we bought some things at the market so we could eat at the cottage. The kitchen is equipped with a coffee maker plus a microwave and a hotplate if you'd like to warm things up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed in the blue cottage. Extremely easy to check in --> door was unlocked and keys on kitchen table. Nice, quiet location that was peaceful.

The cottage itself was nice on first appearance. There were some lizards inside but this was to be expected. The place was swarming with ants. The worst part was getting a blanket from the closet and this was infested with ants as well. I expect there to be insects in tropical places but this was exceptional and an exterminator should really come through.

The kitchen was useable. There is a hot plate and no oven. Also a coffee maker is available.

Stay would have been good if it were not for all the bugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Ola Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Ola Cottages

Address: 45-3474 Kawila St., P.O. Box 1967, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our private cottages enjoy a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical gardening, and enchanting starry nights. Breathtaking Waipio Valley, with its black sand beach, is only seven miles away. Our central location makes the Volcano, Akaka Falls, the Botanical gardens, and snorkeling beaches and all the other sights an easy and beautiful drive away.A short walk away from our quiet two acres are quaint shops, local style restaurants, an historic theater, and an old plantation town where time has stood still.Our quiet tropical paradise lets you feel as if you are miles from civilization-but you can walk to town for groceries, a pizza, and a movie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Ola Cottages Honokaa, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Ola Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.