We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to see the valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waipi'o On Horseback

Waipi'o On Horseback
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727
+1 877-775-7291
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Honokaa
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waipio On Horseback offers special guided excursions on horseback in secluded Waipi'o Valley. Our small groups savor the charm of this 2 1/2 hour adventure in old Hawaii. This trek takes a leisurely pace. Our guides narrate throughout the ride, explaining the history, legends and facts of life in the valley. The path meanders through lush jungle trails along the hillside; through streams and rivers; and on to ancient Hawaiian villages. Riders see dramatic 1,200-foot waterfalls, taro patches, lotus ponds, wild horses, exotic flowers, plants, native trees and birds. See one of Hawaii's oldest forms of farming that produces taro, a Hawaiian staple that helps feed our local community. We meet at the WOH Barn located 7-1/2 miles toward Waipio from Honokaa. Riders travel via four-wheel drive vehicle into Waipi'o Valley-ancient Hawaii's "Valley of the Kings." We depart from the WOH Barn at 9:30 am and 1:30 pm daily. The trail ride begins on the valley floor. Then a four-wheel drive vehicle takes the riders out of the valley and drops them off back at the WOH Barn. A minimum of two and a maximum of fourteen riders are allowed on each excursion. Refunds are given on cancellations received in our office 24 hours or more in advance of the reserved ride time. Because of our remote location, reservations are required at least 24 hours in advance. Weather plays a vital role in this tour's operation and can change rapidly. In case of hard rain or flood conditions, this tour is subject to cancellation. We will give as much advance warning as soon as possible in these situations. This is a unique and active tour. We recommend guests be agile and in good health. We suggest pants and covered shoes. Children under twelve years of age will be accepted if they are with a responsible adult or are experienced riders.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun way to see the valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a little tail to nose at some times but overall a really good time. They stop at a great overview spot on the ride down (in a van) for you to take a quick picture, and the guys running the horseback rides take lots of pictures of you at stops in the valley if you want. It's nicely run by nice people and a great way to see the valley close up.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sundance Wyoming
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It was good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We ride horses at home so going on a horse seemed sort of a waste of time. We really paid for the guides. One was raised in the valley and the other guide was raised on the rim. They were friendly and answered questions I am certain they have heard a hundred time. The ride to the bottom was great in the van. I thought we would get to go to the back of the valley but after the ride I see no one gets to do that. So we actually went back into the valley more than we could have if we walked to the bottom. If you are a big horse back rider...this is just sitting on a horse in a line but remember you get into the valley more than you do any other way unless you marry someone down there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience! Much fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Actually it seems a little bit expensive, to spend over 100$ for a cozy horse-ride down in the valley on normal ways.
But you won't regret this experience! The employees are very friendly and they know what they do. So it's a safe and serious horse-ride. You will see a bit of the beautiful waipio valley and ride through small river beds, also getting a fruity surprise at the end of the ride.
But the best part of this trip isn't the horse-ride itself, but the ride down into the valley with one driver of the company and it's car.... Can't say more, but you'll definitely have fun at this exciting and funny drive ;-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great fun---both the ride into the valley and the ride after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is something you must do in Waipi'o. Only good way to see the valley. This is really a 3 part adventure. At check in you get fresh fruit, nuts, etc. Then you hop into a van for the ride to the valley---and let me tell you, you won't forget it. 25-33% grade for almost a mile on a one lane road with nice drop off to side, praying you don't run into someone (literally) coming back up. 1200 foot drop in short order. THEN you get to be on nice ride for about 90 minutes. If you are looking for a galloping, rocking trip this is NOT it. Very calm horses, very sedate and beautiful ride up the valley, crossing streams. The guide was wonderful and kept all at ease, including those with little experience on the back of a horse. Kudos to Stacey. This trip you can do if you can get on a horse--very easy ride.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“gets you where you can go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am not really a big fan of horses but this trip was really worth it. They drive you down way into Waipio Valley (they could skip the bad jokes). Then you ride out toward the end of the valley crossing streams and learning about the valley. It was beautiful and probably the best way to see the valley. If you want to do adventure riding this isn't for you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipi'o On Horseback also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Waipi'o On Horseback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipi'o On Horseback, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.