We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recharge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipio Rim

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waipio Rim
Save
You added Waipio Rim to your Saves list
48-5561 Honokaa-Waipio Rd., Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recharge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

After a big, busy wedding as well as a long flight from Montreal, we needed a place to sleep, relax and recharge. Steve and Nancy were amazing hosts and we could not have asked for anything more. The view from the balcony is beyond words and if you have a 4x4 vehicle you can brave the drive down to the Valley for beach time or hiking. The breakfast was truly outstanding every morning with fresh fruit and homemade pancakes, crepes, waffles or French toast - it was all perfect. The room was spotless and the bed was more comfy then my bed at home. Wi-fi meant I could stay in touch and Netflix allowed us to enjoy a movie night! We are thankful for the experience and highly recommend this little spot of heaven.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
146
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Waipio Rim in late June 2013 for three nights. It was part of our three week honeymoon trip on Hawaii. During the three weeks, we stayed at several lovely places, but Waipio Rim B&B was our favorite. The room is spacious, the bathroom is well equipped and best of all - there is a private balcony outside your room with world class view to the valley, the black sand beach and the sea (which you can walk down to). The house is surronded by a beautiful graden with different kinds of tropical fruit. In the house next door, the owners, Steve and Nancy live. They are both extremely nice and helpful. Every morning, Steve brought us the best home made breakfast prepared by Nancy, and then we enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony. During our stay, Nancy also made a wonderful pineapple snack and served smoothies after a long trip to the beach. If only we lived closer to Hawaii, we would definitely return! Thanks a lot Steve and Nancy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Whether you are spending one night or several, this B & B is one that should be in your bucket list of places to stay. With a view into the "Valley of the Kings" , and a cliff across that valley rising more than a 1,000 feet above the ocean, and the beach below with a chance for waterfalls too, this B & B offers a view that is like no other!
Nancy and Steve the owners of this beautiful hideaway are wonderful hosts and offer you an experience that is very unique and lovely. Nancy provides a breakfast that is delicious and very nicely prepared in quality, quantity, and presentation. Steve offers and provides helpful information about the valley, the hikes that you might want to venture off on, and even a possible ride up from the valley if you feel that walking up a 25% grade might be a bit much!! All and all it was a weekend to remember, with sights which never got old, and beautiful nature surrounding the property, one wishes one could stay in this quite retreat for more than a few days. This is a place where the phrase "Location, Location, Location" really says it all. I will now recommend to anyone who asks where should I stay, and what should I see. This B & B offers everything a vacation should encompass!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a dream come true. This bnb experience is like nothing I have experienced before on vacation. Everything from checking in, to breakfast, the room and view was exceptional. Loved hearing the frogs, ocean and the rain. Our host were very hospitable and friendly. Would recommend this lil piece of paradise to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Waipio Rim Bed & Breakfast is located in one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The picture of the view on the website is exactly what we viewed from our room and porch. There was a bird feeder on the tree outside our room, and we enjoyed watching the beautiful cardinals feeding there. The sound of the birds and the ocean below was very serene.
Nancy greeted us with a bottle of wine and a delicious pou pou. Breakfast was also scrumptious!
We highly recommend a visit there and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Steve and Nancy have chosen one of the truly great views in the entire world at which to build their guesthouse! Our visit to Waipio Rim B&B was a perfectly timed respite from our other active adventures in Hawaii. We were just about hiked-out when we arrived and as soon as we saw the view from the guesthouse deck, we scrapped all of our plans for the next day and resolved to put up our feet and soak up the view. Both Steve and Nancy are extremely friendly and careful to give you as much privacy as you want while being available to help with anything you might need. Steve helped us pick some fruit from their trees and delivered coffee and a delicious breakfast each morning and gave us a lot of great information about the valley. This was the priciest place that we stayed on our trip but it was the most unique and worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Waipio Rim. I can't say enough about Steve and Nancy's B & B. The location is secluded, except at night, when the frogs sing and put your to sleep - a treat for us! Breakfast was the best we have ever had at a B & B and there is nothing like eating a great breakfast or having coffee, while viewing the Waipio Valley. We enjoyed the privacy and seclusion, yet you are a short drive to the beaches or to many golf courses, etc. I doubt you will ever find a view that is as stunning as this view! We loved our 5 days here! Thanks so much Steve and Nancy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipio Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Rim

Address: 48-5561 Honokaa-Waipio Rd., Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Rim is the only B&B with a dropaway view directly into historic Waipio Valley. Built in 2009 as a private upstairs studio separate from the main residence. Enjoy sunsets, welcome wine and pupus on your private deck. Breakfast is served with a view that includes the black sand beach of Waipio Valley, taro patches, whales in the winter, and Maui on a clear day. Stay a fifth night free after four consecutive nights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Rim Hotel Honokaa
Waipio Rim Honokaa, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipio Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.