We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful garden setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holuakoa Cafe

Holuakoa Cafe
76-5901 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9717
(808) 322-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Peaceful garden setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great food and service is not rushed. A very peaceful way to have a delicious meal in a relaxed garden setting. Perfect if you are visiting Kona coffee country, and a short drive from Kona even if you are not. Seating is outdoors, and it tends to be around 5 degrees cooler than Kona since it is upcountry, so also a nice way to take a break from the heat. The menu changes daily, there is parking in the back (enter via Imin Center or Holoallua Gallery) or street parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    86
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely outdoor seating with a chorus of croaking frogs! Very friendly service and great food. Wonderful lilikoi (passionfruit) cheesecake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive; definitely don't pass it up if you are driving through!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food is amazing but this is part of the slow food to table movement so don't be in a rush or hurry! If mosquitoes like you, then come prepared. Lovely outdoor setting. Everything on menu that I have tried is great- healthy and tasty!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything is locally grown from the lettuce to the beef! Menu changes regularly depending on what the get from local farmers. The restaurant is gorgeous and all seating is outdoors in the garden and porch area. The drinks are reasonably priced and our appetizer was fantastic. Husband & I both got fish (Ono for me, Ahi for him) and they were unbelievably good. For dessert I had the flourless chocolate torte- it was choco-heaven. He had the Kona coffee creme brûlée and I had to ask him NOT to lick the bowl clean in public.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you hate fresh and locally grown food stay away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at Holuakoa Café several times over the last 3 years or so. It is true that the service can be slow. However, you will not be eating anything that was prepared yesterday or that comes out of a box. The menu also changes every day with what local farmers are harvesting that day. So come prepared for dinner out to be more of the European dining experience than the American fast food on your way to the next thing experience.

Their brisket is the best. At least one person in your party should order it so you can all taste it; the portions are big enough to share. Last night I ordered the Pear, gorgonzola and honey pizzetta. My husband and I shared the Capri salad. He had the brisket, which I don't need to say more about.

So if you are in a hurry, go somewhere else. Also you should stay away if you hate fresh, locally grown and organic food. Otherwise you will love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holuakoa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.