We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow food, outstanding flavors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holuakoa Cafe

Holuakoa Cafe
76-5901 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9717
(808) 322-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lafayette, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slow food, outstanding flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lunch at Holoakua Cafe was delicious. Slow roasted pork sandwiches with delicately flavored apple slaw melting into a cornbread square was a spicy, creamy, sweet sensation. Passion fruit cheese cake with a generous graham cracker crust was a tangy sweet finish.

Beautiful garden setting, exotic statuary and koi ponds. Definitely worth the slight trip off the beaten track.

When in town, check out the ukulele shop and talk to Sam and KonaBob

Down the road are several boutique coffee growers, roasters for excellent Kona coffee beans.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    75
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Intimate setting, songs of birds in background, awesome view of the ocean, amazing food! Best place in Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Singing birds, intimate setting, amazing food, wonderful service. Fresh, farm raised food, organic vegetables!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a fabulous Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

You could drive right by this restaurant and not realize what a treat you are missing. We went for Sunday brunch. Food was great, beautiful setting and good service. I am definitely going back the next time I have a chance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

A charming setting, attentive service and ~ oh my! ~ the food!! With a carefully planned menu, fresh ingredients, and an upscale twist on island dishes, this restaurant is a must for "foodies". Enjoy every bite (as we did).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A hidden treasure. Up the hill from Kailua-Kona. You travel into a bit of old Hawaii. We knew they used the freshest ingredients. As a result the menu changes daily based on what is available. Our server happens to be one of their farmers. They raise their own pigs and chickens and buy beef from Parker Ranch. They also go to the harbor and buy off the boats. The combination of flavors was amazing! I had a chicken dish (never want to buy supermarket chicken again) and my husband had ono. Both were fabulous for flavor and presentation. We chose a table near their waterfall and pond. It was cozier in that area and the water blocked traffic noise. Our server was friendly and informative. Lights galore hanging from the pergola and trees. They were a bit haphazard but gave a nice effect. You are surrounded by beautiful gardens.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holuakoa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.