We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holuakoa Cafe

Holuakoa Cafe
76-5901 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9717
(808) 322-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a pleasant place to eat local foods that are well prepared. The wait staff was outstanding and it was so wonderful to find a low-key local establishmen. We'll be going back as soon as we can. It is on the expensive side, but worth the cost.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    86
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The incredible dining experience not to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Picturesque Holualoa (coffee farms & art village is a stunning setting for spectacular food served outside.
A gem done with great creativity and artful aloha.
Hawaii's potential genuinely realized and unassuming attitude at last!
Breakfast food in cafe was excellent and restaurant menu offerings to die for.
Really!
Go there!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unique, local, fresh & casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you like art and you like food, visit Holualoa's and plan lunch time at this cafe. Reservations are not always necessary, but you may find them helpful during peak times/seasons. The restaurant is a destination for many. The food is fresh, organic, local & deliciously prepared. Expect service to be friendly but very casual and leisurely. The atmosphere is casual (covered) garden patio. If you are in a hurry or looking for standard chain restaurant food at chain prices this is not your place. If you want a fabulous lunch that will be unique and offer delicious fresh food, perhaps a lovely glass of wine, and a casual garden setting, make the drive up to Holualoa and visit the Holuakoa Cafe. Go to the restrooms just to enjoy the archititecture, view and the contemporary koi pond. The restrooms are well maintained and beautiful...actually more elegant than the restaurant. I ordered the special for the day which was a "seared Kampachi ceviche." Yes...I know that ceviche is typically not seared, but this had a light sear and amazing flavor. The dish was fantastic! My companions, both men, had the signature pulled Pork sandwich. This sandwich is often not on the menu as it sells out to those in the know, but my husband requested it and found that, luckily, they had not sold out of it for the day. If you likely pulled pork, this is the one to splurge your calories on.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh and Organic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family of three ate on the beautiful patio under a curtain of night stars and glittering lights. We enjoyed delicious organic limeade, and a couple of impressive cocktails to start. The pear and gorgonzola pizza was amazing and my son thoroughly enjoyed his seafood chowder. My husband loved his red pepper soup but was not as crazy about his chicken entree. The apple cobbler was very good if somewhat too sweet and the creme brulee-type dessert was also good. We would go back for the ambience and because it's organic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hawaiian diamond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Not only was the food outstanding but the service and the ambiance was outstanding. The servings were fresh and well prepared and every person in the party was commenting on what a find this little restaurant was. There were 6 in our party and we were seated and served immediately by an exceptionally good waiter. It took a while for the food to arrive but the quality of the food made the small wait worthwhile and HEY... you are in Hawaii... savor the time and the experience. Hawaiian time is for real and there is no offence intended when it takes a little time to get things done. We will visit Holoakoa Cafe whenever we come to Hawaii.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holuakoa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.