We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dan McSweeney Drives the Boat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Dan McSweeney's Whale Watching Adventures

Captain Dan McSweeney's Whale Watching Adventures
Kealakehe Parkway & Queen Kaahumanu Highway, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
808- 322-0028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Holualoa
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean tours to learn about humpback whales and see them close up off the Kona Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island, personally guided by veteran whale researcher Captain Dan McSweeney.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
“Dan McSweeney Drives the Boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dan McSweeney takes an active part in his whale watches..he drives the boat. You leave from the harbor. The boat is a little smaller than what I am used to and at times felt a little unsteady, but we were fine and did not get seasick. You have to arrive 15 minutes before sailing time to pay for the whale watch. We had gone in early March before with another company and saw a ton of whales in a short period of time. We didn't see as much action this time in December but from what I understand, December is early in the season. Dan McSweeney narrates & drives & spots whales while he tells you info about the whales & his adventures with them. They serve fresh fruit, drinks & M&Ms. He pointed out spinner dolphins which actually spin. He also played a whale song for us & gave us a picture he took of the whales. It was an enjoyable morning. His is a little more expensive than the previous whale watch we went on.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    30
    10
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Whale watching treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent trip, well narrated by Capt. Dan, with lots of good information. Managed to see lots of whales including mother and calf, both breaching out of the water. Excellent staff on board, and well done and worth the time and cash. We went on the early morning trip and also had the sunrise over the mountains as an added treat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Whales and Dholphins as Promised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We got everything we wanted by getting to see whales. We watched them surface and dive and learned about their tails and spouts. Captain Dan is clearly very passionate about these gentle and beautiful creatures and has a lot of knowledge to share without being pedantic about it. We then got the bonus of spinner dolphins and a flying fish or two. The rest of the crew were excellent and they made sure we had an almost constant supply of drinks and snack and even hot towels at one point. This is a class act and if you are going to do a trip - I would do it with Captain Dan!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of whales and spinner dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Captain Dan and excellent crew provide a wonderful trip for whale watching and viewing spinner dolphins. We saw about three whales for a while and many, many spinners having a great time. It's a treat to be with someone who knows so much about whales and dolphins and works to preserve them in their natural habitat. The crew are great as well--provide snacks, information, and beverages.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Only 2 whales but the captain and crew were wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Others have said that there's no guarantee you'll see whales (or even one) and it's true. We only saw two for about 15 minutes of whale-watching in 3 hours. But the trip was very informative, the boat quite comfortable, and Captain Dan and the crew were wonderfully friendly and helpful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dan McSweeney's Whale Watching Adventures also viewed

 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Captain Dan McSweeney's Whale Watching Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Dan McSweeney's Whale Watching Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.