We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roast your own coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UCC Hawaii Kona Coffee Estate

UCC Hawaii Kona Coffee Estate
75-5568 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
808-322-3789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Attractions in Holualoa
Type: Farms, Factory Tours, Other, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Monterey CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Roast your own coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had so much fun at UCC coffee farm. We roasted a lb of kona beans fresh from their farm in Holualoa. Peggy, our roastmaster and lovely woman guided us through the roasting process. The tour begins with a small cup of kona coffee, a pucture is taken of you, and a personalized label is made just for your coffee bean bag. Roasting coffee is an art here, not computerized like Starbucks. After our roasting we toured the farm and learned all about the farming and picking of the cherry beans. A fun, informative, and good tour that we will do again when we return to KONA!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Am now addicted to chocolate covered coffee beans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was late afternoon (around 4.45) on a Saturday so we were not sure how welcome we'd be when stopping for a Coffee Plantation tour. The girl that greeted us (she said she hailed from Nebraska) was super friendly and gave us a 'talking tour' of the plantation from the information centre. Learnt a lot about growing coffee! We then went for a short, self guided walk on the plantation, looking at the coffee beans, roasting facilities etc. The trade winds had blown up so although it was a bit windy, the winds had blown the vog away and we had clear blue sky with a nice clear view of the coastline of Kailua-Kona area. Then, back to the information centre where we sampled some coffee, chocolate covered coffee beans and had a free coffee ice-cream. I'm not a coffee lover but the ice cream was good and I'm so glad we purchased some chocolate covered coffee beans.... they're so good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great way to burn an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Kids and I loved this. Great coffee tasting and tour of coffee plantation, which is free. Then back to office/cafe for superb coffee ice cream and other treats. It really is very pretty up there, if you hire a car this is a must.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Kona, Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Big Island not as fun or interesting as Maui, Oahu, Kaui, but Kona way better than Hilo.

Kona coffee I cannot judge as I do not drink coffee. Like the Macadamia Nut Place . Try macadamia nut cream pie...yum.

We went on a varied bus tour that was really good.

Lila

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, ill
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice road side stop to learn about the coffee plantation and enjoy some of their great coffee or ice cream. The lady running the information center was pleasant, informative and interesting. Lovely view.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UCC Hawaii Kona Coffee Estate also viewed

Holualoa, Island of Hawaii
Holualoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to UCC Hawaii Kona Coffee Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UCC Hawaii Kona Coffee Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.