We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming and Cozy Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lilikoi Inn to your Saves list
Lilikoi Inn
75-5339C, Mamalahoa Hwy., Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off in May and June!
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
1 review
“A Welcoming and Cozy Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We have been to the Big Island before and stayed in different B&B's, but the Lilikoi Inn was easily the nicest, most conveniently located, and the best value! Just upland from Kona, it is also near Captain Cook, the best place on the island to snorkel and swim with dolphins. The rooms were clean, large, tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was delicious and incorporated local ingredients, many of which were grown right there on the farm. Shai, the chef/owner, has a catering background and it shows in his flair for taste and presentation. Did we mention the hot tub and beautiful lanai??? All in all, the Lilikoi Inn is a great value for a lovely place. Plus it is a welcoming place for LGBT folks!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    32
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
245
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Recently spent 2 nights at the Lillikoi Inn with my wife. It was our first time on the Big Island and the first time staying at the Lilllikoi Inn. What a wonderful find - we found this place by researching the reviews on tripadvisor. The inn is in the up country above Kailua-Kona with a great view of Kailua-Kona and the ocean - great sunset views. The house was warm and inviting, the rooms clean and comfortable, with a beautiful lanai surrounding the house and extending to an outdoor "dining room".

The owners - Shai and Trina - are wonderful, friendly people transplanted from the Bay Area. Shai, originally from Israel, is an incredible chef (apparently he used to have a catering business) and by far the best part of the stay at the Lillikoi Inn were the incredible breakfasts we had on each of the 2 mornings of our stay. From the freshly squeezed lillikoi (passion fruit) juice, to the home grown avocado's made into a wonderful guacamole dip, to the excellent omelettes and incredible french toast we really felt we were being terribly spoilt.

A wonderful stay - we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We drove up to a beautiful home and were welcomed with a glass of lilikoi juice (passion fruit juice). This was the beginning of three amazing days.

We were welcomed into a large beautifully decorated living room (it had a a lovely piano in it). Our room was right off the living room. It was a very large room tastefully decorated. I really loved the painting of the lilikoi vine and flowers. We also had a lovely private bathroom. Our teenagers were right next door. Their room had two beds and their own private bathroom. Each room had their own TVs, there were many books to read and lots of music CDs to listen to. There was also a small kitchen were guests could do some cooking. We just used the fridge. Hope the next guest enjoyed some our beers and diet cokes.

It felt like we were invited to be members of this family. The husband, Shai, appears to offer dinner to his guests once a week. We had a delicious meal of curried chicken, rice and green papaya salad. Everything was cooked to perfection. Even the setting was idyllic. They have a very large lanai (veranda) off the living room. It has views of the ocean. A romantic setting for a romantic meal, of course we had two teenagers.

The wife, Trina, was very friendly and gave us advice on what to do. She lent us flash lights to go see the volcano. She recommended a place to go snorkeling that was not in our trusted guide book (Big Island Revealed). This turned out to be the best coral we had ever seen. We have snorkeled in many places over the years, but this place was special. We even got to swim with dolphins and turtles. The beach she recommended was near the one that the guidebook recommended. We checked out both beaches. She was right, the one she recommended was better.

The breakfasts alone make this my favourite B&B. The first morning we had lilikoi juice (I am still dreaming about that juice) and fresh omelets. They have their own chickens and you can really taste the fresh eggs. Someone in our family must have told them it was my birthday on a second day. They made a great fuss of me. We had french toast with lilikoi syrup. My only birthday wish is to be able to come back often, to be able to stand and watch the sunset from the lanai again while drinking yummy lilikoi juice.

I can't end this review with out mentioning Teddy, a beautiful brown dog, who allowed us to hug and pat him endlessly. He must get a lot of practice putting up with visitors who are missing their own dogs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Not enough can be said that would do this amazing Bed and Breakfast justice. Every morning I awoke to wafting smells of Shai's gourmet breakfasts which used avocados harvested from their trees and eggs laid by their hens. His Lilikoi juice was scrumptious! In the two weeks I spent in Kona, there was never a dull moment. Trina knew everything to do around the island- the best beaches for snorkeling, great hikes, and the best way to visit the volcano. Because of her guidance, I had a truly magical experience swimming with dolphins and sea turtles on a remote black-sand beach.

I hope to come back and visit the Lilikoi Inn again. The rooms are so comfortable and airy. The beds are great and the views are amazing. It is so easy to realx and enjoy Shai and Trina's generosity and hospitality. If your travel plans include a trip to Kona, I highly recommend a visit to this little island paradise.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

While we have not stayed at this lovely place, we did enjoy one of their monthly "Dinner on The Lanai" event. Once a month they feauture a five-course set menu dinner ($40.00) on the main lanai and each dinner highlights the cuisine of a different region or country. We enjoyed their Cajun-themed dinner and I highly recommend to get on their e-mail list for notification of these monthly dinners. Seating is limited so RSVP early!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had a lovely 3 night stay with Shai (Trina was away) at the Lilikoi Inn. Our highlights were Shai's delicious and beautiful breakfasts (best on our trip), the fruit smoothies we could always count on coming back to after a long day sight seeing, the location on the scenic byway up in the hills (jungle like, through a gorgeous little artsy town, coffee plantations, exactly what you think of when you think of Hawaii rainforest), and the relaxing hot tub. Shai also gave us a great tour of his grounds, and has wonderful knowledge of agriculture that he shared. It was wonderful to drink a cup of coffee grown from the coffee trees you could see outside his deck.

I would say this is an AMAZING place to stay if you are a solo traveler, because the family is very welcoming and you will never feel lonely. If you are a couple, I'd personally recommend asking for one of the downstairs rooms, which seemed more private to me and have updated baths. The upstairs room, that we were in, is lovely, but felt a bit open for us as we were on our honeymoon. But of course if we were really concerned about privacy we should not have been staying at a BnB! Overall, we had a lovely time and thought Shai was a lot of fun. His adult children were visiting at the time and they were also super cool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

I absolutely recommend this b&b to everyone who wants a comfortable, relaxing stay that feels like you're staying in someone's home...in a really really good way. Shai, Trina, and their son Misha showed us the utmost hospitality at their beautiful little abode. The rooms are spotless, the kitchen ALWAYS smells great, and if you ask nicely, Misha's a pretty good dancer too. I am so happy I chose this lovely haven for my stay on the big island, it would be a great value at any price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Address: 75-5339C, Mamalahoa Hwy., Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilikoi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.