We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holualoa Inn

Save Saved
You added Holualoa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holualoa Inn
76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off 7 Nights or More
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Oceanside, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

My wife and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon. The view was great, the location was nice, the staff was generally courteous, and the open-air setup was outstanding. The bed was luxurious, and it was a great finale to our trip. It felt like being in an exclusive resort - one for just the few of us who managed to find this spot. Upon arrival, you are asked to remove your shoes so as not to damage the hardwood floors. Breakfast was very nice as well - presentation, taste and quantity were all good, including both hot and cold dishes and local coffee. The concierge book suggested things to do and places to see both near and far on the island. There were some negatives, however. The temperature was a little higher than I expected, and with no AC we left the windows open... but I had a hard time sleeping with the various nature sounds - dripping water, crickets or cicaedas, and birds, including a very early rooster in the distance. Funny, but I had no problems with the ocean when we were staying right over the water, while I did have trouble with the lower-volume but not as predictable sounds here... the other thing that soured me, was that the bill included "suggested gratuity" amounts of 10, 15 and 20% (for "good, great, or excellent" service) on top of a bill that was already double what the guide book which suggested it listed, and also on top of a $50 extra charge for only staying a single night. I'd never seen that at a hotel, before, and particularly not one where I was already spending nearly $400 for one night. Overall, I'm glad we stayed here instead of, say, the Sheraton; and it was a nice way to wrap up our trip, but I do not want to go back... and I didn't really feel completely welcome... like maybe I wasn't old money enough or sophisticated enough to be a desireable guest there. My wife didn't have that feeling at all, though, and she wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Amazing view of Kona - if you pick the right room
  • Disliked — I felt gouged for dollars
  • Tips/Secrets — Nice if you have an unlimited budget and don't want to stay at a resort
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
130
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We just spent five days in this bit of paradise. Sandy has created a sanctuary that offers peace, rest and harmony. The setting is idyllic and the staff attentive to every detail. A perfect place to restore the soul and blend with a natural surrounding not to be believed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

My family and I really enjoyed our stay. The architecture is amazing and the common rooms are tastefully appointed and the pool and hot tub were fantastic. Each room was very comfortable and oozed an old world charm seldom found in Hawaii. The common room with its small kitchenette was really convenient and as we had the entire place to ourselves the entire experience/ambience was perfect. Sunset by the pool is not to be missed as the views are incredible. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and highly recommended. Our only reservation about returning is the rather substantial price. It was a great one time vacation as we were in Kona for a wedding but the per room price is significant. Plus the ambience would not be same when sharing the place with strangers. However, if you are looking for a beautiful secluded get away, the Holualoa Inn is hard to beat (just make sure you have a car).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We just completed an excellent 8-day stay at the Holualoa Inn. We had stayed there for 3 days in 1997, loved the experience, and had corresponded with Thea Brown, the resident manager, since.

As others have noted, the place has changed hands over this winter, which has caused considerable confusion and some disappointment.

We had reserved in September for our March stay, before the change of ownership. When we arrived, the staff were completely surprised, and initially dubious that we did, infact, have a reservation. Fortunately, we had the necessary documentation and they were able to swap around to create a suitable vacancy. The new owner, Sandy Hazen, instructed her manager to "do whatever was needed to make this right", including a very deep discount.

Over the course of the week, I was able to meet with Sandy on several occasions, and despite our initial skepticism, we came away with a very good feeling about the whole experience, and a belief that our favorite country inn is in the hands of a "good steward". In fact, it turned out so well that we declined the proferred discount and paid the originally agreed price.

Changes are definitely afoot, some better, some maybe not, but the net effect is that we will return, probably within the year.

1. Thea Brown, the personable manager of the past ten years, is gone.

2. Some of the new staff are still finding their way, but this will sort out.

3. There is remodeling going on. Some folks have commented negatively on this, but it is long overdue. The magnificent house was definitely wearing out. They are closing for the month of May to get this done properly. Sandy assures me that the rates will not increase to cover these costs.

4. The lavish cooked breakfasts are a thing of the past. The health dept. has clamped down on "uninspected kitchens" operating under the b&b exemption, so they have gone to a cold breakfast. Still pretty elaborate, with a wide variety of fruits, cereals, breads, lox, spreads, etc.

Still good value, and well worth the visit.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

After 14 years away from the Inn it was great to return again for the 1st 2 weeks of Feb. We noticed that it is going through a change in ownership and the prices are going up substantially next year. The location, while up on the hillside overlooking Kona, is very peaceful and quiet and you get used to the drive up the long winding road to Holualoa. The views are fantastic from up there and nice and cool in the evenings for sleeping. There was a little too much furniture coming in and starting to clutter in places. The staff are excellent and most helpful and would only recommend they strengthen the morning coffee!! They make a gourmet type breakfast but we much prefer plain old Bacon and Eggs, toast and fruit, etc. I think they may be pricing themselves a little too high ( 40% increase )for the accomodation and would return if they were still giving a long stay discount as in the past( no longer avilable ).
We wish them the best and hope it all works out for the new owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

This was our first trip back to the inn in years. As we drove up the long lush driveway of gingers and palms, we immediately noticed new budding coffee plants through the foliage. This is a new development that we did not see during our previous stays, so we were intrigued from the drive on in. A charming staff member welcomed us with an enthusiastic "aloha" and showed us to our room. We booked the same room that we stayed in five years ago (The lovely Hibiscus Room) and were amazed when we walked in to see a beautiful new bed with white fluffy linens. (Before the renovations, the beds were really old and had bright tacky Hawaiian bedspreads) Everything looked a little more polished and refined than we remember it being: New bamboo beds, high-end balinese and indonesian teak furnishings and BEAUTIFUL new artwork throughout the inn. The menu seems to have been upgraded as well. When we were served breakfast the plating was amazing and the orange juice was FRESH SQUEEZED!!! We were sad about the rate increase but after 5 days of enjoying the new improvements feel like it was worth every penny. The staff is so gracious, the location is tranquil and we felt rejuvinated and renewed from our stay there. I highly recommend this luxurious inn... it's a perfect retreat for anyone seeking peace, quiet and the ammenities of a four-star inn.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at this inn and are certain to return! The beds are like fluffy clouds with the high threadcount sheets and warm down comforters. We were also impressed that the towels were supima cotton! What luxury!! As we understand, the inn was recently acquired by new owners. New balinese furnishings have been brought in and when we were there it appeared to be freshly painted. The breafasts were gourmet quality with organic ingredients and fresh squeezed oj. It looks to us as if the new owners are making up for lost time on the maintenance. When looking at old pictures of the place it looked neglected... We are pleased that this is our new little gem in Hawaii. I hope the new owners continue with the upgrades so that we can enjoy it more and more with our future stays.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
…an inspired vision of Polynesian elegance - Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 4,000 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holualoa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.