We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fourth visit and better than awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holualoa Inn

Save Saved
You added Holualoa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holualoa Inn
76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off 7 Nights or More
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our fourth visit and better than awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everything is perfect at Holualoa, hence the reason we keep returning. The attention to detail, the service, the incredible fresh food and coffee, comfortable beds. Every need is anticipated and addressed. The inn itself is to die for and only surpassed by the staff. By far, the best place we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Much mahalo for posting another wonderful review. We appreciate your taking the time almost as much as we enjoy having you "home" each year. Looking forward to celebrating your 12th anniversary, Big Island style. Much love and aloha from your Holualoa Inn ohana. Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
130
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Holualoa Inn for 3 nights in June 2013 during our honeymoon. What a wonderful experience. We were greeted very warmly by Kat with fresh squeezed lemonade and cold towels. She showed us around the house and helped us with our bags. After a quick intro she gave us our space.

We stayed in the Gardenia suite, which is absolutely fabulous. The bed is wonderful, sheets are divine, the room is very well appointed, and the view of the garden, pool, and coastline is beautiful.

The house is wonderful- so peaceful and comfortable. We were lucky that there was only one other couple staying at the house, and they were rarely around. The staff leaves in the evenings but are reachable via phone. So we pretty much had the house to ourselves- we enjoyed sunsets at the pool, lounged in the common room, and used the fridge and guest kitchen to prepare our meals. What a treat.

Now to the most important part...the food. All I can say is wow. We had the most delicious breakfasts each morning with fresh fruit from the gardens and food prepared to our liking. This was probably the best food we had our entire 2 weeks in Hawaii. We always looked forward to snack time at 4:00 when they would put out fresh baked goods and juice. The service was excellent and the staff was so friendly- Rick and Crystal are great chefs.

Overall, the Holualoa Inn was the highlight of our trip to the Big Island. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are thrilled to read that your honeymoon celebration at Holualoa Inn was relaxing and peaceful. We strive to make it a home away from home for our guests and it's very rewarding to know how comfortable you felt here. Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We'll save two seats at the breakfast table for you, and perhaps get to welcome you home for an anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I loved staying here. How often do you get to stay in a first-class inn on a working coffee plantation? The house is a true Hawaiian home that is as stunning as it is relaxing. Hawaiian and Indonesian-inspired decoration constantly reminded me that I was on vacation far away, and the staff is super chill and friendly. I loved taking in views of the Kona coast while eating freshly-made breakfast every morning. My favorite dish was the lilikoi stuffed French toast with lilikoi syrup. There's really nothing like it. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Our 5,100 coffee trees do produce a delicious cup of 100% Estate Kona Coffee. The Hawaiian/French toast is made with locally baked Punalu’u Sweetbread and our homemade lilikoi cream cheese. Top it off with toasted macadamia nuts & coconut, our incredible lilikoi syrup, and you’ll experience one amazing breakfast! We look forward to your return “home” soon. Mahalo for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We divided our trip to the Big Island in two parts: 4 nights in the Kona area, 4 nights in Hilo and Volcano and 7 more nights back in Kona. We are glad that we spent all 11 Kona nights in the Holualoa Inn. The place is absolutely lovely, surrounded by beautiful vegetation and coffee plants (we enjoyed the blossom of the coffee flowers and everything smelled just great), spotlessly clean and with an amazing view of the Kona coast. Staff is very helpful and friendly, they make you feel at home!
I especially enjoyed the breakfast together with the other guests where we had the chance to exchange information on what to do on the island. The breakfast was delicious and the mild Kona coffee was the perfect start of the day.
To go to Kona town you have to drive about 15 minutes down the road, which is no problem at all. If you want to eat within walking distance from the inn, there is a very good place called Holuakoa Café.
When we left we filled out the feedback form and to my pleasant surprise some weeks later I received a letter from Holualoa Inn thanking us for the feedback and commenting on it, which shows how much they appreciate and care for the guests and the inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
As a Senior Contributor we know you have stayed many places and we really appreciate your kind words. We always appreciate our guests’ feedback and do our best to implement any suggestions they may have. It was a treat for us to host you for 11 nights and we’re happy to know we “made you feel at home!” especially since you traveled half-way around the world to stay with us !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Holualoa Inn in April 2012. I would say it is the most amazing experience we've had at a bed and breakfast. The staff are wonderful, the food is unbelievable, and they cater to your every need. The rooms are fabulous, the pool is gorgeous, and you feel on top of the world. I am not sure I've ever had better breakfast anywhere. It is a peaceful, zen experience and truly somewhere you will not regret staying. If I could have brought Brian and his chef skills back with me, I would have done so! If you are searching for a relaxing, romantic place to stay, I wholeheartedly recommend the Holualoa Inn!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are excited to know your wonderful memories of the Inn and all that it offers are still so vivid and amazing one year later. We appreciate your kind words and want you to know the Inn is still “a peaceful, zen experience” and “a beautiful oasis!” In the last year we’ve built another incredible addition to the Inn, the Malulani Pavilion. Located on the great lawn, the pavilion is home to many special events, from weddings to art auctions. We hope you come back “home” soon for more relaxation and romance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Holualoa for the first three night of our honeymoon. We honestly questioned whether it was going to be too far away from the action. As it turns out, we were really thankful by the end of our trip that we had been able to spend some time away from it. While you definitely have to drive to get just about anywhere, we didn't mind. We used it as a home base for our explorations. The only thing we really missed was having a variety of dining options to choose from. We found ourselves struggling daily to find a great spot for dinner.
We booked the Ginger Room and loved every second of it. We'd heard mixed reviews of the roosters and frogs chirping, but I have to say it was rather relaxing. We loved walking the grounds and exploring the inn. If only it had been warm enough for a dip in that cold pool!!
The staff was great and breakfast was delicious. My husband LOVED trying the local fruits and still talks about that cherimoya.
We, too, found the suggested tip portion of the bill to be awkward, but it certainly wouldn't deter us from returning. Those sheets are reason enough to return!!

Room Tip: Booking a room with 'ocean view' isn't really necessary since you're so far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Mahalo for choosing the Holualoa Inn. Located in the heart of the Kona Coffee growing region at 1,400 feet elevation, we are “above it all.” Our location offers spectacular ocean views. One of the best restaurants around, Holuakoa Gardens and Café is only a 5-minute walk from the Inn. Our Comphy sheets are so incredibly popular many of our guests order a set to sleep on at home. We look forward to serving you more delicious fresh fruit from the property when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Coffee Cherry Room at the Holualoa Inn for 4 nights in February 2013. it was a beautiful room with private hot tub. Staff were so friendly and helpful, we loved sharing the wonderful breakfasts with the other guests and of course the Inn's own estate Kona coffee. The home baked afternoon teas were a real treat to come back to after a days exploring. The Inn's provides all the beach equipment you need so we grabbed masks, fins and snorkels and headed down to Refuge Bay recommended by the staff. The snorkeling there was very good and we even got to swim with a pod of Spinner Dolphins that came over to investigate. We shall be returning to stay at Holualoa Inn again when we return to the Big Island of Hawaii. In the meantime we are enjoying their estate Kona Coffee at home which tastes even more amazing using our expresso coffee machine. Mahalo to all the staff for making our stay so memorable and special, hope to see you again soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Swimming with a pod of Spinner Dolphins, relaxing in your private hot tub, eating delicious breakfasts & afternoon treats, and enjoying our amazing 100% Kona Coffee – WOW – it sounds like you had an incredible trip !!! We look forward to your return “home” soon, so we can spoil you some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
…an inspired vision of Polynesian elegance - Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 4,000 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holualoa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.