We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm tempted to write a terrible review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Holualoa Inn to your Saves list
Holualoa Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off 7 Nights or More
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
paris
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“I'm tempted to write a terrible review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

just to keep the place a secret because it is really that good. Lovely grounds, great view, comfortable and well appointed rooms. A welcome relief for the beach/hotel ghetto of every Hawaiian island. I do not have one complaint. I am going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We love your sense of humor! Many of our guests feel exactly the same way. When we say we hope to see you again soon and please be sure to tell your family and friends about us they reply, “No way, we want to the keep the Inn a special place just for us.” We promise to keep the Inn a special and memorable experience for all of our guests. See you back “home” soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
134
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Holualoa Inn was the best B&B we have ever visited. The rooms, facilities and grounds were beautiful. Museum quality pieces of art and furnishings were located throughout the Inn. The staff had a "can do" and very friendly attitude. Each morning a 5 star special breakfast was served and each afternoon homemade cookies and pasties were offered as a delicious treat. A variety of tea and Kona coffee were always available. Suggestions for activities, restaurants and directions were gladly given. Nothing was ever out of place and there was no drama during our entire stay. It was sad to leave such a relaxing and breathtaking place. We highly recommend the Holualoa Inn and hope we are fortunate enough to return for another visit.

Room Tip: We preferred the 2nd floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are thrilled to know you think of us as the “Best B&B Ever Visited.” That says a whole lot coming from a Top Contributor with over 88 reviews! You two were an absolute joy to host. It was fun for us to see you each morning enjoying our homegrown estate Kona coffee as you researched and planned your day on your iPads. We look forward to welcoming you “home” once more so we can spoil you again! Mahalo for your generosity when we said Aloha (goodbye) – it was much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Holualoa Inn is everything great you'll read here - and more. The property and location are jaw-dropping. The town is small, quiet, funky, and wonderful. And the staff and services are simply sublime. If you're looking for a quiet and serene but also very luxurious way to enjoy the "real" Hawaii - this is it. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It’s exciting for us to read we “met and exceeded” your high expectations. We strive to make our guests’ experiences ones that create wonderful memories. We too look forward to your return “home” to the “real” Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Get your Big Island sightseeing outta the way before you land in this amazing place! Because once you get here, you'll never want to leave! I can't think of a better way to end a vacation. From the moment you see the inn's inviting sign and meander down the beautiful, lush bordered drive to the open air entrance of this wonderful inn, you'll think you've come home... but will never feel the stress. The grounds are perfectly manicured, the views are incredible and the staff is simply outstanding. What more could you ask for? Todd, Bess, Steven, Cat and Crystal could not do enough to insure our comfortable stay. From delicious, fresh AND healthy breakfasts and snacks to great advice and assistance in making dinner and adventure reservations to just plain pleasant and fun small talk with a keen sense for those who preferred their own personal space. They've simply thought of everything, including beach supplies all the way from chairs, mats, snorkel gear and even sun tan lotion! When is the last time your hotel supplied you with sun tan lotion??? If you want to experience the true meaning of Aloha, don't miss this place!

Room Tip: Coffee Cherry Room has it's own entrance. Very roomy and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We send our warmest “Mahalo & Aloha” for your amazing review. It gives us “chicken skin” (goose bumps) to read your generous comments and to know you had an awesome time! You two are very special to us as well. We all had a great time with your fun sense of humor and gusto for life. We hope you’ll be able to come back “home” soon. Until then, keep your pants on straight and never stop laughing. Thank you for adding such fun and richness to our lives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed this inn. The people, extraordinary building and the location all make it a memorable experience. And did I mention the coffee? The only downside was the weather which was cloudy or rainy in the afternoons following crystal clear mornings. I got the impression that the weather was worse than average but not unusual for the time of year. Lucky the inn was so great. I only hope I will have the opportunity to go back some time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We’re happy to know you enjoyed your memorable experience at the Inn. The weather is one of the few things we can’t control, but we are working on it. We love our European guests, especially since you travel so far to visit us. We look forward to your next visit back “home” with lots of sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is such an exceptional Inn! We spent several days here, and felt it was one of the most special places we have ever stayed. We were greeted with such warm and genuine aloha from the staff. The inn and grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Your every wish thought of ahead of time. You can have a massage in open air gazebo, grab a couple of boogie boards and beach towels and head of to the beach, relax by the pool, or stroll in the gardens.

We stayed in the beautiful Gardenia Room, with it's gorgeous views of the Kona coastline. The decorations are unique; you know are in a tropical paradise. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, we couldn't get enough of the Kona coffee, grown right on the inn grounds. We loved it so much we order it online to have at home, and are reminded of our special time at the Holualoa Inn every time we brew a cup!

I simply run out of superlatives trying to describe this special place. Thank you to Noelani for her warmth and kindness during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We agree the Inn’s 5,100 coffee trees produce some of the best Kona Coffee around. It’s the peak of picking season and the coffee beans are as fresh as ever. We’re excited to know you experienced the best the Inn has to offer. Wishing you a Happy New Year and hoping you come back “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am going to do my best possible written recap of our stay at Holualoa Inn, but its going to be no where close to reality. My wife and I came here on the end of our 2 week Hawaii trip and stayed for 3 nights in the Coffee Cherry Room. From the moment we waled in, to the time we left, we were treated with love, respect and like family. The staff at the Inn were some of the nicest people we have ever met, and really took good care of us and other guests. In addition to soaking up the amazing views, you will soak in the most amazing coffee and delicious breakfasts, which are always a surprise and a gastronomical journey your tastebuds are going to love. Some of the things we loved while at the Inn were the awesome grill, where you can buy yummy local fish and grill fro dinner. Watching the sunset and the amazing snacks and desserts that are made available to all guests. You will not go wrong staying here, and will have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Get the Coffee Cherry room if you want access to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
It’s a joy to work at the Inn. The entire team says “Mahalo” for discovering and enjoying all the Inn has to offer. We love when our guests have a great time and create incredible memories. Your photos are beautiful! We look forward to your return “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holualoa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
…an inspired vision of Polynesian elegance - Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 4,000 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holualoa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.