We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holualoa Inn

Save Saved
You added Holualoa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holualoa Inn
76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off 7 Nights or More
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Mendocino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is such an exceptional Inn! We spent several days here, and felt it was one of the most special places we have ever stayed. We were greeted with such warm and genuine aloha from the staff. The inn and grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Your every wish thought of ahead of time. You can have a massage in open air gazebo, grab a couple of boogie boards and beach towels and head of to the beach, relax by the pool, or stroll in the gardens.

We stayed in the beautiful Gardenia Room, with it's gorgeous views of the Kona coastline. The decorations are unique; you know are in a tropical paradise. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, we couldn't get enough of the Kona coffee, grown right on the inn grounds. We loved it so much we order it online to have at home, and are reminded of our special time at the Holualoa Inn every time we brew a cup!

I simply run out of superlatives trying to describe this special place. Thank you to Noelani for her warmth and kindness during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We agree the Inn’s 5,100 coffee trees produce some of the best Kona Coffee around. It’s the peak of picking season and the coffee beans are as fresh as ever. We’re excited to know you experienced the best the Inn has to offer. Wishing you a Happy New Year and hoping you come back “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
122
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am going to do my best possible written recap of our stay at Holualoa Inn, but its going to be no where close to reality. My wife and I came here on the end of our 2 week Hawaii trip and stayed for 3 nights in the Coffee Cherry Room. From the moment we waled in, to the time we left, we were treated with love, respect and like family. The staff at the Inn were some of the nicest people we have ever met, and really took good care of us and other guests. In addition to soaking up the amazing views, you will soak in the most amazing coffee and delicious breakfasts, which are always a surprise and a gastronomical journey your tastebuds are going to love. Some of the things we loved while at the Inn were the awesome grill, where you can buy yummy local fish and grill fro dinner. Watching the sunset and the amazing snacks and desserts that are made available to all guests. You will not go wrong staying here, and will have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Get the Coffee Cherry room if you want access to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
It’s a joy to work at the Inn. The entire team says “Mahalo” for discovering and enjoying all the Inn has to offer. We love when our guests have a great time and create incredible memories. Your photos are beautiful! We look forward to your return “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

In our planning and communications months before our trip we felt that Holualoa Inn had to be special and we couldn't wait to see if our feelings and research were on track. We were celebrating our anniversary and both of our birthdays, so we searched high and low to find the "right" place and did we ever!!!
From the moment we turned off into the driveway and meandered our way through the gorgeous grounds of this coffee estate we thought we had arrived at our "home away from home". That was indeed confirmed when we were greeted some warmly and cheerfully through the kitchen window by Cat. We once again knew that Holualoa Inn was beyond special and amazing.
The grounds and home are unbelieveable--every detail, every decision has been thought of and you do truly feel that you are staying with special friends in their home.
We hesitate to use the term "staff" because everyone who works at Holualoa Inn must have been chosen so carefully not only for their fabulous skills and personalities, but it's so very evident that this amazing group of people have created a culture of cooperation and family within their environment and with each other. They are so special that I called the week of our return home to share with Cat how much they all made our trip and to let them know that we missed them all.
Thank you so much Cat, Steve, Crystal, and so many more who made our stay at Holualoa Inn one of the highlights of our 3 week trip to the Hawaiian islands.
Crystal's gourmet breakfasts were not only outstanding, but beautiful as well. It's difficult to say which was the best since we loved all of them.
When you go (not if) know that you will be taken care of in every single way--directions, recommendations, reservations, wonderful snacks and beverages, a fridge and washer/dryer for guests to name a few.
Holualoa Inn is located in the small arts village of Holualoa with fabulous views of the Kona coast below--a great location out of the huba buba of Kona, but a reasonable ride to shops and restaurants. We will say that probably the best place we ate during our 5 night stay was within walking distance of the inn--so island casual and such good food with fresh local ingredients that we ate there 3 times.
As you can tell we loved Holualoa and the wonderful "staff" and it will be a very special memory for us and hope we will return "home" in the future.

Room Tip: We had a chance to take a look at all the rooms and each was special. We stayed in Hibicus and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
WOW – Mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are excited to know you had an amazing time. It gave us chicken skin (goose bumps) to read all your generous comments. It is guests like you that make our work fun and meaningful. Creating great memories is what we love to do. Thanks again and we hope to see you back “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This inn was one of the highlights of our wonderful trip to Hawaii. We spent 3 nights here as we explored the Kailua-Kona area. The inn is on a coffee farm with plenty of fruit trees and beautiful walking paths. You also have a tremendous view of the coast below. The inn itself is gorgeous and feels like a home away from home. We stayed in the Plumeria Suite and it was wonderful! The bed is very comfortable and the bedroom makes you fell very relaxed. The sitting area provides a good view of the grounds and is a great place to read a book. Even the bathroom was great! The staff was very attentive during our stay and always took time to check in on us. One of the evenings we took a long tour to Mauna Kea for the sunset and stargazing. When we came back, we discovered that the staff had taken the effort to put the evening snack on our nightstands. It was the little touches like this that set this inn apart from any other place that we had stayed previously. The location is perfect for activities down in Kailua-Kona. We did two snorkeling tours and the Mauna Kea tour and we were only a 15 minute drive from the various departure and pick up points. Since the inn is at a higher elevation than the coast, you get relief from the sometimes hot and humid temperatures. At night you do hear the Coqui Frogs but they aren't overwhelming like elsewhere on the island. The inn does provide complimentary earplugs if the sounds of nature are too much for light sleepers. We also took full advantage of the complimentary laundry services that they provide. It allowed us to pack lighter than what we normally would have done. The morning breakfast service was great and we had the opportunity to try fresh fruit that was picked fresh from their grounds. We highly recommend this inn for anyone staying on the Kona coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
WOW – your wonderful review sounds like an exciting brochure!
We really appreciate your comments. It makes us feel good to know you had such a great time. If you have any photos to share please send them to marketing@holualoainn.com. Hope to see you back “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

During our two week trip to Hawaii, this was our destination to be at for my husband's birthday and boy was it special! The property and the grounds are gorgeous and the view is one of the best from all of our stops along our trip. The house sits high above the Kona coast and is right in the middle of the coffee plantation 'highway' so it was a perfect location for not only peaceful views, but convenient to our coffee touring. I loved the special touches like the way the room was prepared for us with giant leaves, flowers and local Hawaiian sayings on the nightstand. Breakfast was amazing, with juices and fruits and other items grown right on the property. Irina was so very helpful to us in making dinner reservations, and we so enjoyed the Lilikoi juice we asked for extra!! We took some time to enjoy the patio up on the roof, a wonderful spot to unwind, also don't miss the chance to walk around the grounds and see the coffee trees. Their coffee was wonderful and we took a bag home! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus Room has wonderful wide open views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Mahalo for your generous review. We’re thrilled to know your visit added a special experience on your husband’s birthday. There is much to see on the 30 acres and you discovered the best spots. Our lilikoi juice and syrup is as popular as our coffee. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The category of "B&B" for this hotel is a bit misleading. The hotel is so special that it belongs in a category of its own. We have stayed in high end luxury resorts in places like Tahiti, Seychelle Islands, Bali, etc., and found the overall experience of the Holualoa Inn to be as special. The price is high, but worth it. It's like arriving at a multi-millionaire's private home and being welcomed as a special guest.

We spent a total of 7 nights, in two of the six rooms. They are all beautiful, but different, so it's hard to recommend one over another. The staff are all so wonderful that I don't want to mention any one by name, for fear of leaving someone out.

Although there is no dining room on the property, there is an excellent restaurant that is a 5 minute walk away (I think it is called Halualoa Cafe). We ate at about 10 different top end restaurants on the Island and thought that the one in Halualoa was actually the best of them all.

In terms of "practicality," first time visitors to the Big Island should know that the most beautiful beaches and hikes and sites are spread out all over the island. In other words, you need a car to see this island. We used the Halualoa Inn as our base, and went off every day after breakfast to explore the island, returning to the tranquility of Halualoa for dinner and the evening. We would have done the same thing if we had been staying at the Four Seasons or the Mauna Kea.

One recommendation: by all means rent a 4 wheel drive car! The most beautiful beaches on the island are not accessible to 2 WD cars. These beautiful beaches are usually not marked with signs on the road, and can only be identified as "take the dirt path on the left between mile marker 90 and 91 on the highway". The best way to find them is to buy a copy of the Big Island Revealed guide book. (The hotel has a copy.) In accordance with local custom, I will refrain from identifying the most beautiful beaches, as we want to keep them secret!

We will definitely return to the Halualoa Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Mahalo for your detailed review and suggestions. It’s exciting when our guests stay for a week and have time to enjoy the Inn and see many of the beautiful sites and beaches the Big Island has to offer. As you said, there are many wonderful restaurants to choose from and Holuakoa Gardens is one of our guests’ favorite spots. We look forward to welcoming you “home” soon. We will have your beach gear waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Holualoa Inn was our first base after arriving in the Hawaiian islands from the UK, and it was a great place to wind down.

The B&B is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The rooms are not air-conditioned so we had to keep the windows open at night, but the property is about 1500 feet above sea level so it never felt too hot and there was a great breeze through our room (Orchid). We thought the noise from the tree frogs would be a problem - it was extremely loud all night - but we actually found it quite soothing and enjoyed the "back to nature" experience. The only problem was that, whilst the window nets kept out the mosquitoes, a few midges still managed to get through and we found ourselves keeping the lights very low when we came back to the room at night in order not to attract them. We still ended up with a few bites though!

The pool is spotless and attractive but can best be described as invigorating. It's unheated and was absolutely freezing! To be fair, the B&B warned us about this before we arrived (but not before we booked!).

As other reviewers have said, the breakfasts were delicious - nicely presented and very varied. The Kona coffee was amazing and the fruit (mostly home grown) was served perfectly ripe. The "treats" and juices that we left out each afternoon were another nice touch, not to mention the macadamia nuts, which we loved.

The common areas were superb, and there were so many places to "hide away". Everything has been thought of, even down to a laundry room. We just wish we had been able to stay longer - there is so much to see on the island, we didn't really get chance to enjoy all the facilities.

The staff were great. They couldn't have been more helpful, and were really good at recommending drives, beaches, restaurants etc. If anything, they were almost too attentive. Our tour of the property when we arrived took 45 minutes and we found the service a little too personal in some ways (as perhaps evidenced by the style of some of the management responses to each review) but we still loved it.

There was one uncomfortable aspect of our stay however which has resulted in our downgrading from 5 to 4 stars, and that relates to the request on the final bill for a tip. Coming from the UK, the American approach to tipping is alien to us, but we have been to the States on enough occasions to understand the approach and, wherever we travel, we always research tipping etiquette in advance and tip at the appropriate levels.

We had seen one or two earlier negative reviews on TA about the tipping policy at Holualoa but were still a little surprised to find a note at the bottom of our bill saying something along the lines of "many of our guests ask us about tipping, this is what you might like to tip at 10%, 15% and 20%." The 20% suggestion amounted to $200 for a 3 night stay which, quite frankly, we found insulting. At the end of the day this is an already expensive b&b with just a handful of staff, it is not a 5 star hotel, and to even receive a suggestion that we pay $200 was, in our view, quite insulting. We stayed at several similar b&bs whilst in the Hawaii islands and none of the others took this approach. We therefore felt very uncomfortable when settling our bill and, in fact, left a much lower tip than would otherwise have been the case. It has left us with a slightly negative memory of this otherwise excellent property and we really hope that this comment may encourage the b&b to re-think their policy on this.

Tipping issues aside, we would have no hesitation whatsoever in returning to Holualoa.

Room Tip: Our room, Orchid, was at the end of a corridor and we found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn and our team. Our goal is to provide an extraordinary Big Island experience so we rely upon and cherish our guests’ feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your Holualoa Inn experience overall and we will certainly consider your recommendations as we move forward. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Hotel
Holualoa Inn Hawaii
Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
…an inspired vision of Polynesian elegance - Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 4,000 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holualoa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.