We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One trick pony, but what a great trick” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1 Plus 1 Cafe, LLC

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
1 Plus 1 Cafe, LLC
315 Maka'ala St., Suite #110, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808-961-6288
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 203 restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
In the soft green seas of the Pacific Ocean
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One trick pony, but what a great trick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is not our favorite, doesn't even come up on our radar when we want to eat Chinese or Vietnamese food. But...they do one thing absolutely to perfection, and one thing only. Their duck chow fun soup is divine, and worth the trip. The in-house BBQ-ed duck and duck broth is perfect, as are the thick noodles.
It's a large place for Hilo restaurants, and the service is almost on the rude side of indifference, but if you love duck and noodles, this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Okay food, needs better service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Tried their lettuce cups, chow mien, walnut shrimp and egg rolls. Service was fast, but disappointing quantity. I had to pay for extra lettuce leaves, there want enough crispy noodles in mix. Walnut shrimp was just ok and noodles were good. Waitress didn't come by for water or tea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Possibly worst Chinese Food Ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overcooked and chewy beef BBQ, worst spring rolls and fried aps I've ever had. You could do better Chinese food almost anywhere. Bathrooms were disgusting even by Chinese restaurant standards. No need to waste time here when there are dozens of good Thai and Japanese restaurants in Hilo.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“Bad eating experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

They use old oil to fry food, health department should check on them. The other dish was also undesirable. A disgrace to the so called Chinese food we ordered.
We will not return and please think twice if you wish to try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I are frequent eaters here. We're never disappointed. Highly recommend the duck and pork soup!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1 Plus 1 Cafe, LLC also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to 1 Plus 1 Cafe, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1 Plus 1 Cafe, LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.