We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Hilo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Bay
Save Saved
You added Dolphin Bay to your Saves list
333 Iliahi St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Hilo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you're going to Hilo, this is the best place to stay. Clean, quiet, and bright, Dolphin Bay is centrally located near downtown Hilo on a beautiful property. Fresh fruit and bananas are available all day in the lobby and the frogs sing at night. Friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    195
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
125
238
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We escaped a terrible B&B and found this treasure in Hilo.
Clean, large room with full kitchen, # 14 on the 2nd floor had the BEST shower for a tall man. The owner is a tall man and he believes in showers with tall ceilings...my son was very happy.
The room was incredibly clean and spacious. i slept so soundly.
We took their suggestion for a pizza joint as it was a heavy rain that night and so we had a great pizza & movie in-room that night. it was fun for a change during our travels.
lots to do in HILO.
i wish i had booked this for a few nights as it was an ideal spot to go to Volcanoes National Park and the waterfalls north of the city.
Also fresh picked bananas and papayas provided in their lobby PLUS hot coffee starting at 5:30 to allow for the early risers. An easy hotel to call your home. I loved everyone I met and again I wished I had found them earlier so that we could have stayed here for a few days instead of just one.

Room Tip: We really liked # 14. On 2nd floor and had a cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Good room,Good garden,Good coffee,Good fruits Thank you!

Room Tip: 1 Bed room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This place isn't fancy by any means, but it's very clean, comfortable and homy. Everything a traveller might need is provided. The host was very generous in providing us with advice about restaurants, places to visit etc. The coffee, pastries and fruit in the morning were delicious. We had considered staying in Volcano rather than Hilo, but I'm glad that we opted for Hilo. It's an easy 40 minute drive to the volcano national park, but is also easy access to other interesting sites (Puna, Akaka Falls, Hilo farmers market, the local zoo).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We first stayed at Dolphin Bay in May 1990. Thoroughly enjoyed the easy, relaxed living that Dolphin Bay lets you experience. The quite location, very comfortable amenities and very friendly staff. We returned December 2010 and everything was exactly as we experienced in 1990. We will be returning in a few weeks and really look forward to this wonderful little hotel.

Room Tip: When making the reservations, the staff will be very open and try to make sure your needs will be me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Dolphin Bay hotel is excellent place to stay in Hilo-very popular with families, and an outstanding value for the money.  Three nights at the Dolphin Bay cost several hundred dollars less than one fewer day in Kona in a comparable hotel.  Morning coffee is quite good; bakery goods brought in fresh, free papaya and bananas available. WiFii was free and the signal was reliable in all our rooms.  Minor inconveniences -Room 4 is noisy since it sits right next to the coffee machine-and the sound will carry even through a closed door, and the place does use fans in lieu of AC. However, we found the fans very effective at coooling. 
The original building date to the 1950s, but the interiors have been redone. Each room has a full kitchen, fridge, microwave, flat screen TV with cable.  The owners have planted a lovely and restful  rainforest style area next to a brook behind the building. A gravel pathway will take you through breadfruit trees, banana plants, ginger, impatiens and other plants. 
The owners and managers provided us with excellent advice on things to do nearby. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Dolphin Bay is a wonderful place to stay while touring the Big Island. The helpful staff have lots of suggestions for the best places to see. Beds are great for a good night sleep. Coffee, fruit, and muffins are available in the morning.The small kitchen worked well to cook local produce from the Farmer's Market (Wed, Sat), and great fish and grass fed beef, also locally available. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown Hilo and lots of places to eat. Hotel landscaping and garden showcase tropical plants and a nice place to relax. Washer and dryer is available on site. Ask for a room with a porch -- great place to sip a glass of wine in the evening or the morning coffee. Rooms are air-conditioned with fans (no forced air) -- this works well. Hotel rooms are very clean, serviced well, fresh flowers upon arrival. TV in each room, no phone. We have stayed here many times and keep coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a porch-costs a little more but adds to the enjoyment of the place. The room adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Address: 333 Iliahi St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.