We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, Charm, Magic berries and Magic cake!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shipman House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shipman House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Shipman House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
131 Kaiulani Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History, Charm, Magic berries and Magic cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

History and charm seeps from the walls of this majestic property. The large and tastefully appointed rooms evoke a restrained elegance that is quaint and inviting. Your hosts are humbly proud of their creation and rightly so. It is always a challenge to renovate and reestablish heritage of a bygone era but the icing on the cake is Barbara's family link back through the generations of family members who originally established and have owned the home. She has relit the candle to her families history and created a museum of charm that is an unexpected bonus when you stay at the Shipman and a tour by Barbara through the house is an elevating and must do experience. The breakfast is an inspired delight based around Hawaiian fruits and homemade cakes and pastries with an oatmeal mix to die for ... and make sure you don't forget to ask Barbara to test you with a surprising taste sensation from a magical African berry that tricks your taste buds into thinking sour is sweet and sweet is sour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple in the upstairs rooms and had a fabulous stay. Our hosts, Barbara & Gary were most gracious and generous in providing local knowledge about where to eat, what to see & where to go. Breakfast was produced mostly from fruits grown on the property or baked on the premises and was delicious.
The house has been lovingly restored and you get a real sense of its history as you wander the halls or chill out on the verandah with a beer or wine.
If you are rambunctious or have boisteroud kids this may not be the place for you, but we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff57_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Amazing house, hosts and experience! I stayed here with my daughter and it was the most relaxing, informative and tasty vacation. Hilo is old and charming and not crazy like Kona or Waikiki. The people were friendly and Barbara and Gary gave us daily advice on what to see and experience. The breakfast was HUGE and had fresh local fruits, fresh smoothie, juices and baked local bread and a homemade breakfast muffin. Simply fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippinzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We loved our stay at the Shipman House. The trip up the driveway to this enchanting home was just the beginning of our excitement. The owners have restored an old Victorian Home to it's former grandeur and have furnished it with many family antiques. The main floor is a step back in time to pre-statehood Hawaii. We stayed in Auntie Clara's Bedroom and loved watching the sunrise from our very comfortable bed. Then was the fabulous breakfast on the lanai. The weather was beautiful, the owners were great hosts, and the amount of quality of foods available was outstanding. There were 13 different fruits (most gown on the Shipman House grounds), two kinds of homemade granola, a hot cereal, fresh yogurt with 6 different toppings, two kinds of bagels, and two kinds of homemade breads with 4 different jams or fruit butters. And that doesn't include a fabulous assortment of teas, coffee, and juices. My only disappointment was that I couldn't eat it all! The wrap around porch on the first floor and the second story porch were appointed with great chairs to comfortably watch the sun set through the palm trees and to enjoy the sounds of the Hawaiian evening. The innkeepers were spot on in their recommendations for great parks, eating places, and businesses to visit. The value for your money was definitely worth it and we will stay there anytime we are in Hilo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuZi520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Shipman House is beautiful. The hosts, Gary and Barbara, are very nice people who take good care of their guests. The house is centrally located in a pretty part of Hilo. The breakfast is delicious and full of variety (from baked goods to many kinds of tropical fruit that were was grown on the property). The hospitality at The Shipman House is superb. If you're comin for a peaceful stay in Hilo, this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christiejoxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Shipman house for just one night about two years ago (october 2010), so I am not good on the details. I just remember that Barbara took great care of us, asking for our plans for the day, and making great recommendations: we wanted to see the lava flow in the evening, and not only did she recommend a great place to have "the best" chocolate milkshake, but she also provided us with things we had not though of, such as a blanket to seat on, binoculars, and I think she even mentioned a tripod for the camera. She also recommended a great place for dinner on our way back.
For our needs, breakfast was more than sufficient, with plenty of fruit, which I am really fond of. But I usually don't eat a lot for breakfast.
We were not annoyed by the frogs. In fact, I don't really remember hearing them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a wonderful stay; the B&B is a hidden gem in Hilo and our only regret is not staying longer. Barbara and Gary are such wonderful hosts and from the moment you enter the House you sense peace and tranquility. Barbara's & Gary's local knowlege and advice has meant that we will leave our brief stay with you with memories that will last a lifetime.

Clearly the owners are proud of the service they offer thier guests and this shows through in the quality of the rooms, and the in-house breakfast- Wow! Healthy, tasty and home-grown.

When (not if) we return to the Big Island - we will be back to the Shipman Inn.

Room Tip: The Mauka room faces the bush and gets a cool evening breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank No_Response_given
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
21.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipman House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipman House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 131 Kaiulani Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What to do in Hilo? Plenty! Get some of the best local advice from your hosts at Shipman House B&B, an historic home from Hawaii's monarchy period. Free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, free parking. Large guest rooms all have modern private baths. Amazing breakfast fruits. Special diets accommodated. Your part-Hawaiian host, a Shipman descendant, knows the best places to eat, shop, explore. Walk to restaurants, museums. Hula available. National Register. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shipman House Hotel Hilo
Shipman House b&b Inn
Shipman House Bed And Breakfast Inn Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing