We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal on the Big Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Na'Ali'i Plantation

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Na'Ali'i Plantation
2939a Pulima Dr., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best deal on the Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Naali Plantation for two nights in July 2009. We were on a budget and we had a difficult time looking for affordable accomodations on the Hilo side, but we were really lucky to have found this place. Mike and Annie were so friendly and such generous hosts. There were two rooms on the second floor and we stayed in the Blue Room. Luckily there were no other guests, so we had the whole second floor to ourselves. You can really tell that they have put a lot of thought and care into their B&B. They had coolers and beach chairs that you can borrow for a day at the beach, board games for the family to play and even toiletries available in case you left anything at home. And Annie's breakfasts are to die for. She made french toast for us one day with her homemade bread. Yum! It definitely made for a memorable experience on the Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in late March, 2009. It was all we could have wanted and more. We had a lovely bedroom, living room, kitchen and bath, plus a huge private lanai. The breakfasts were delicious!! The grounds are beautiful, and Annie was gracious enough to take us on a "tour" of her gardens. Definitely not a resort (thank goodness), but a comfortable, warm home-away-from-home. Annie is very accommodating concerning the food. She was careful to ask if we had any dislikes or allergies. If we ever return to Hawai'i, this is where we want to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

Our family of four loved our stay at the welcoming Naali Plantation. It was all we expected and more. Located in the heart of a lush rainforest, our view from the upstairs patio was out of this world. We enjoyed walking the grounds, the homemade breakfasts were delicious, and our hosts Mike and Annie were gracious and helpful. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

Stayed here for two nights in May 06, and it was great! We were in the bigger room on the second floor, and had the entire floor to ourselves.
Spacious rooms, hearty breakfast, and Annie and Mike exemplify the spirit of Aloha.
The place is inside a plantation, so can seem a bit spooky driving in (esp. if you watch too much TV), but it was an absolute delight. It is a little far from town, though.
Annie's breakfast was easily the best we had in Hawaii, and the floor contains a kitchen with pots and pans and a TV and VCR with some cool movies.
The outside Lanai with the lounging chairs are also very comfortable.

There was some renovation going on when we visited, though, but Annie worked that around our schedule.

Whole-heartedly recommend the place.

Meera

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2006

Annie and Mike Maguire are the kindest hosts. Lots of food for breakfast and she even made me rice because I am allergic to wheat bread. We had a sunny room on the top floor of the house. We also had use of the kitchen and a patio. It is a romantic place to stay. It is about 7 miles from Hilo town on the BigIsland. There is a koi pond and lots of rain forest. Annie gave us lots of tips about how to get places because there are few signs for tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

We stayed at Na'Ali'i Plantation one night on 2/18/05. It was perfect for our family of 4. We got the whole upstairs to the house for $100, with a full kitchen, living room, dining room, 2 bedrooms, bathroom, and a giant lanai where we had breakfast in the morning. Not a pristine 4-seasons, but a laid back comfortable place where you just want to relax and never leave.

We got a tour of the gardens in the morning of papayas, bananas, pineapples, coffee, and tons of anthuriums.

If I had known how good it was going to be, I would have booked a longer stay. What a great place to have a base of operations to see big island sights.

Reading other reviews around Hilo, it looks like you can't go wrong whereever you stay, but if you are travelling with kids, I think it would be hard to find a place better than this around Hilo.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Na'Ali'i Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na'Ali'i Plantation

Address: 2939a Pulima Dr., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Na'Ali'i Plantation Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na'Ali'i Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Na'Ali'i Plantation to your Saves list