We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai on Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine

New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine
110 Kalakaua St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2870
808-969-3777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 211 Restaurants in Hilo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
friso
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai on Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As my username implies, I'm from Frisco, ( been here 11 yrs.) so I've eaten plenty of great Thai food, and New Chiang is right up there with the best.
Great pumpkin curry, and ahi Chughchi ( I'm probably misspelling that )

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, MT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great green papaya salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

One salad is big enough for a meal for two, if you're not starving. The service was quick and the food excellent. We also enjoyed the green bean dish. Both dishes were large.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing cocunut soup. Huuuuge bowl. Get it with rice and it is a full entree. I order Tom Kha Guy soup everywhere and this is the best I ever had. Pad Thai was good too

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Service-someone took our order, and I don't think we ever saw them again. Had to ask for anything extra we wanted by stopping someone as they went by (as opposed to someone checking on us), the food came out as it was ready (so my wife had her food half done before I got mine), not a big deal for us, but if this is your service standard, let people know. Had to go up to get our bill.

Food- pad thai tasted like pad thai flavoured ketchup, we ordered mild and medium, generally we expect it not to be too hot, but at least to have flavour. I did like the chopped vegetable to add to the pad thai, giving it a nice crunch.
The calamari was terrible with a heavy tempura batter on it.

Thai food isn't really that hard, a decent pad thai sauce is a must.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a fantastic meal here with friends and family. The menu has lots of variety for every taste. Most dishes have a choice of vegetarian, beef, chicken or seafood. Great food, great service what more can you ask for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.