We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
88 Kanoelehue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808 969 9336
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 204 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brooksville, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We really liked Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine. It's a small place and you may have to wait to get in but it's well worth it. The food was delicious. Three of us spilt the summer rolls with tofu, a green papaya salad, Pad Thai and a wonderful, green curry with fish. They use really fresh, local ingredients and they grow their own herbs. When you ask for hot, it is hot! The service was very friendly and attentive and the location is in a strip mall across from the airport's runway but don't let that deter you. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    91
    48
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thai-erd of same old local food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had the Kang Ka-Ree(yellow curry), Kang Kiew Warn(green curry) and Pad Thai noodles. All were very flavorful with the right amount of heat. I've tried the curries different ways but the best is with chicken and jasmine rice. The owner Sombat is a beautiful person who makes you feel welcomed in her restaurant. I always have the Thai iced tea too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food - enormous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I thought the prices were a little high until the food came and I had enough for 2 meals. This place lacks a little charm and service but makes up for it with the food. Ordered from the menu instead of the steam table and it was worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The best Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been craving good Thai food on the island. My favorite dish is Pad Lard Nah and this was absolutely delicious, it comes very close to many mainland dishes I tasted except the gravy was a bit too runny and noodles were hard to scoop. But I'll be back for more. We also tried the Sweet Sour Chicken, Kang Ka-Ree and Kang Ped curry dishes on their daily specials. It's great to try new dishes and found the Kang Ka-Ree was the best.

We did have to wait a few minutes for the server to set up another table and chairs for us. Lunch time is very busy but if you're willing to be patient, it sure is worth the wait. The restaurant is off a major road and the parking lot behind the building. What a treasure to find. They even have fresh herbs growing infront of the restaurant. Check it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were staying in Hilo for a few days and the hosts at our B&B recommended this place. I am so happy we decided to try it, it was the best meal of my trip! The staff was attentive, the food was plentiful, flavorful, and spicy. Perfect! I cant wait to go back to Hilo so we can eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.