We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Medium" spicy is really "hot" spicy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
88 Kanoelehue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808 969 9336
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 203 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Medium" spicy is really "hot" spicy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We read so many good reviews so gave it a try. Food is good but they don't warn you that
"Medium" heat is really "hot". We eat food that is typically fairly spicy (raw serrano peppers etc.) - so we can usually handle "hot" food on menus at other restaurants. Our kids love Thai food so we ordered a lot of food with Medium spice but it was so hot for us that we ended up ordering another dish with minimum spice for the kids. We were disappointed that server did not give us a heads up. give some options or adjust the bill for the extra dish we had to order like most restaurants do. (Note: we did not ask for them to adjust the bill). I guess, given that this is a small restaurant, they did want to lose the cost of the dish and we did not push it. We would go back, but will be careful!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    91
    48
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little hard to but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We love Thai food and when hungry in Hilo found the good reviews for Sombats on Trip Advisor. Trip advisor was right again. We had satay and pad Thai as we were hungry and not adventurous. We will be back as you can walk in and take ready made food to go for day trips. Great IDEA!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Drive around the back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

It's in a rather nondescript 2 story building, which you need to enter from the side road, but once you are inside it's rather delightful. The food was excellent and plentiful. Definately recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good, nothing amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall, our experience at Sombat's was pretty good, though the service was very slow.

Chicken satay appetizer was nice. The chicken was juicy, though the sauce left a little to be desired.

The red curry with shrimp was very tasty. Nice and spicy (medium) and with really good flavor.

The pad see ew and the pad thai were very standard fare, though executed well.

The fried rice was fried rice.

Everything was pleasantly tasty, though nothing was mind-blowingly awesome. A solid 4 stars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“excellent and distinctively fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sombats offers many familiar items on Thai menus but the execution is at a new level. I went there for lunch. I selected the larb and my friend had soup both of which had distinctive herbs and a fresh taste. I am anxious to return and try our some other dishes.
The ambience is informal and the restaurant is quite small but the service was warm and attentive. We had the bananas in wonton skins for dessert but my friend said to try to tapioca next time as it is stellar. I highly recommend this hard to find "hole in the wall" on Route 11 just a half block south of Ken's. Parking is ample, around back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.