We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
88 Kanoelehue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808 969 9336
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in Hilo. It all has to do with the quality. Just delicious. The decor is nice, what you might expect from a Thai place, and the location is convenient. It's hard to figure out how to get in there, though -- drive around to the lot on the far side of the building, the lot that faces Ken's, and walk around the front of the building. It's small, but great tasting Thai.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    57
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“you'll definitely come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When passing the somewhat neglected business building you won't imagine what juwel sits in there. The restaurant is not too big, is very nicely decorated and gives more the impression that you are guest in Sombat's home. The guests are welcomed by a warm friendliness and treated more as friends than guests. The meals are freshly made and are just fantastic. We came there all 4 evenings during our stay in Hilo. Especially the curry entrees and the ananas rice are a must. Don't miss the tapioca desert !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are not experts in Thai cuisine, but we've liked what we tried. We were in the mood for adventure, so we went to Sombat's intending to try dishes we had never tasted. We spoke to a sweet and friendly waitress and she helped us select an appetizer and two main courses - all were beyond our expectations for deliciousness.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afordable and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I have had a few meals here. Quite good food.. full of fresh ingredients cooked to percection.

Note anything over Two Star spice is going to be Thai standard hot, lot more than you expect.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the soft green seas of the Pacific Ocean
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delish and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sombat grows many of her own veggies and the freshness shines in her dishes. The lunch specials are the best deals, but there is nothing on the menu we have ever been disappointed with.
Crowded during lunch hour, but worth the wait. Or go for dinner when there are even more choices of delicious, fresh Thai food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.