We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you'll definitely come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
88 Kanoelehue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808 969 9336
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 205 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“you'll definitely come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When passing the somewhat neglected business building you won't imagine what juwel sits in there. The restaurant is not too big, is very nicely decorated and gives more the impression that you are guest in Sombat's home. The guests are welcomed by a warm friendliness and treated more as friends than guests. The meals are freshly made and are just fantastic. We came there all 4 evenings during our stay in Hilo. Especially the curry entrees and the ananas rice are a must. Don't miss the tapioca desert !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    91
    48
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are not experts in Thai cuisine, but we've liked what we tried. We were in the mood for adventure, so we went to Sombat's intending to try dishes we had never tasted. We spoke to a sweet and friendly waitress and she helped us select an appetizer and two main courses - all were beyond our expectations for deliciousness.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afordable and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I have had a few meals here. Quite good food.. full of fresh ingredients cooked to percection.

Note anything over Two Star spice is going to be Thai standard hot, lot more than you expect.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the soft green seas of the Pacific Ocean
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delish and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sombat grows many of her own veggies and the freshness shines in her dishes. The lunch specials are the best deals, but there is nothing on the menu we have ever been disappointed with.
Crowded during lunch hour, but worth the wait. Or go for dinner when there are even more choices of delicious, fresh Thai food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fresh, tasty Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good food, good service. They even handpick local wild herbs to make their herbal tea. The waitstaff were really knowledgeable about everything on the menu, went out of their way to be helpful and find out more for me, and were really flexible to challenging requests. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.