We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place and People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Honu Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilo Honu Inn
Save Saved
You added Hilo Honu Inn to your Saves list
465 Haili Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Place and People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Gay was absolutely a delight to meet and took great care of us. The home is welcoming and beautiful. Breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed absolutely everything about this place. We would go back in a heart beat! Thanks Gay for everything. You and your home are awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
89
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It had only been one year since our first stay at the Hilo Honu Inn. In that time Gay and Billy had upgraded our favorite room with a large flat screen tv that included free netflix too! Which after 12 hours of hiking the volcano was great to come home and relax with. Last year we had an AMAZING time, this year, even better. After reading some review of other BnB'S in the Hilo area I realized how great we have it at the Hilo Honu Inn. We have locks on the doors, great accommodations, an air conditioning unit in the wall which worked quite well if needed, but most importantly the true feeling of being with "family" while staying there. Yes, The breakfasts are great, the coffee, and the pancake souffle, and Gay's dancing, which comes straight from her humbly honest love of everything Hawaiian.
She is the "real deal" and everything you want in a friend or family member when staying at their home during the vacation you have been looking forward to all year. She is honest, heartfelt, wears her heart on her sleeve, intelligent, and well versed in everything Hawaiin all while being the quintessential host anyone would want guding there way through Hilo. This year she went to dinner with my spouse and I and we had even more time to get to to know her. As we sat, locals would stop by our booth and she would greet them and ask about their family, and when they "were coming back to dance with her friends in their local group!?" Gay was the owner of the bed and breakfast we stayed in two years ago, but now she is the friend we looking forward to catching up with the next time we see her. f you want to stay at a BnB that feels first class and fabulous, this is the place!!! Mahalo Nui to Gay and Billy for their accomodations and sincere friendship....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thank you for another wonderful vacation. Gay and Billy are wonderful hosts and you can feel genuine aloha as Gay greets you in the driveway with a hug. You feel like part of their Hawaiian family "ohana" and they are a wealth of knowldedge about the local history, language, cultural traditions, and anything else one would like to know. Breakfasts are delicious with fluffy banana soufle pancakes, large plates of tropical fruits, fruit smoothies, yogurts, and delicious kona coffee. Gay is part of a hula group and is happy to perform the hula after breakfast. You will not get that experience anywhere else! Part of the fun of the B&B experience is also interacting with the other guests and sharing travel experiences and itineraries. We stayed in the front room (bali hai suite) which had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. There is also a separate sitting room area, and there is a rainfall shower along with handheld shower. Hilo is a lovely town without the busy feeling of waikiki, and has a warm welcoming feel. Our first night back to Hilo, we walked from the B&B down to the downtown waterront area to Cafe pesto and had a delicious dinner. Walking was a fun way to see a different view of the community and to slow down and appreciate the tranquility of this special part of Hawaii.

Here is a link to video I took of gay's hula performance
http://youtu.be/MmTuxFOjlA8

Room Tip: Bali hai suite has air conditioning, and easy access to dining room and front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were delighted to stay at the Hilo Honu Inn. Gay was a wonderful host, and assisted us from the moment we decided to book and until we left. We felt very welcome and did not want to leave. The rooms were beautifully decorated and were of decent size to accommodate our family - 2 adults with 2 kids. Breakfast was plentiful but the best part was speaking with Gay and getting her advice on the area and Hawaii in general.
We highly recommend the Hilo Honu inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Every now and then you come across a place you want to keep secret, it's that good. This is such a place. We stayed only one night (necessitated by circumstances!) knowing that this wouldn't be enough. The house is charming, built in the Japanese style in the early 20th C, and spectacularly decorated, especially the upstairs suite which Gay showed to us. We had the Honu's Nest, a small but beautifully appointed room with a comfortable bed, sea-themed bathroom, and spotless cleanliness. The room had an a/c, but we didn't need it, as the room had an overhead fan and windows on two sides for the crossbreeze. As others have said, Gay's breakfast was amazing, and her recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants were spot on. We were genuinely sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were delayed a day due to airline and Gay was so gracious that she didn't even charge us for the lost night! The breakfasts were amazing and hospitality just as great! Highly recommend this B&B! It feels like home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hilo Honu Inn. Gay was so friendly and helpful with tips for all of our planned destinations! Our room was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast, cooked by Gay, was absolutely delicious! Great base for exploring the east side of Big Island and the volcano!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Honu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Honu Inn

Address: 465 Haili Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilo Honu Inn is a recently renovated, craftsman style bed & breakfast located just blocks from downtown Hilo. Spectacular ocean view from Samurai Suite. 10 minutes from the airport and convenient to many area attractions. Great home base for Volcanoes National Park and the east side of the Big Island. See waterfalls and tropical gardens. Visit Mauna Kea observatory and Imiloa Planetarium. Watch sea turtles (honu) swim at local black sand beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilo Honu Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Honu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.