We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All B&B's should be like this.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Honu Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilo Honu Inn
465 Haili Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All B&B's should be like this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Every now and then you come across a place you want to keep secret, it's that good. This is such a place. We stayed only one night (necessitated by circumstances!) knowing that this wouldn't be enough. The house is charming, built in the Japanese style in the early 20th C, and spectacularly decorated, especially the upstairs suite which Gay showed to us. We had the Honu's Nest, a small but beautifully appointed room with a comfortable bed, sea-themed bathroom, and spotless cleanliness. The room had an a/c, but we didn't need it, as the room had an overhead fan and windows on two sides for the crossbreeze. As others have said, Gay's breakfast was amazing, and her recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants were spot on. We were genuinely sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
86
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parrish
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were delayed a day due to airline and Gay was so gracious that she didn't even charge us for the lost night! The breakfasts were amazing and hospitality just as great! Highly recommend this B&B! It feels like home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hilo Honu Inn. Gay was so friendly and helpful with tips for all of our planned destinations! Our room was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast, cooked by Gay, was absolutely delicious! Great base for exploring the east side of Big Island and the volcano!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I and two teenage children spent three nights at the Hilo Honu Inn. After much research for places to stay in Hilo, I thought this place was too good to be true. It lived up to our expectations... and more. We had the two rooms on the first floor - the Bali Hai Suite and Honu's Nest. Both had air conditioning, which is a real find in Hilo. The rooms were beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless. We also were able to relax in the main living area. The owner, Gay, and her friend delighted us with stories about Hawaiian culture and provided critical advice for sightseeing. Gay also went all out to cook first-rate breakfasts. The Inn is in a nice, residential area of Hilo, a two minute drive from the main shopping/restaurant streets. We used it as a central location for touring: south to Volcano National Park and Black Sand Beach and north to the Hawaiian Botanical Gardens and Akaka Falls. It was a perfect place to stay. (The only reason I am not giving it five stars for sleep quality is because there were no room-darkening shades, so we were up earlier than we wanted the first day. Gay was sympathetic and gave us extra sheets to drape over the windows. But after all the touring, we were so exhausted that we didn't really need them the second two nights. Otherwise, the beds were super comfortable.) We highly recommend the Hilo Honu Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is an excellent B&B. The owners - Gay and Bill - are awesome and make you feel completely at home. They make great breakfast every morning! My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Hilo and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is strategic - close to major attractions, restaurants, grocery stores and also to Volcano National Park. Gay narrated a lot of local stories about the culture and people of Hawaii which we enjoyed very much. She also made flashlights, umbrellas etc available to us when we went to see the lava flow and when the weather looked rainy. I highly recommend this place for a stay in Hilo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I want to second what the previous reviewers say about the great hospitality and the great food. My wife and I spent the middle portion of our honeymoon here, and we thought the location was fantastic. We used it as a base as we made trips to Akaka falls, the farmer's market, the beach, and restaurants. It was easy to head out to Volcano National Park after leaving as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I had one night in Hilo (the first night of our honeymoon!) before we headed north to explore the Big Island. We randomly picked the Hilo Honu Inn and it was such a blessing. We got there in the late afternoon and Gay met us in the drive with a hug. Immediately upon meeting her, I felt at home. We were the only guests that night, so she upgraded us to a larger room, which was fantastic since I'd really overpacked! The room was gorgeous, comfortable and tastefully done. I'd really suggest staying in the front room, which has a sitting room as well as a bedroom, as it helps you pretend the place is yours!

The Inn is a beautiful building and Gay gave us a short tour and told us about its history. Although not from HI originally, Gay and her husband Bill are deeply invested in their community and have so much knowledge to share. Over breakfast they both gave us tips about how to spend our week, and my husband and I found ourselves repeatedly referring back to their advice.

In particular, they suggested buying "the blue book", which is a guide book written by locals. We read it and found it really helpful and entertaining. They've available for all of the islands and I'd recommend them too. They also suggested that when visiting VNP, if you do the Kilauea Iki walk, do it counter clockwise (against the recommended flow) and I'd suggest the same. It means a steeper ascent at the end, but the views are worth it going that way.

We were only at the Inn one night, but we fell in love with it and with Hilo. It's a lovely, quiet town where you can see what Hawaiian life is really like. We can't wait to come back to visit and to try Bill's french toast again (amazing, especially with the coconut syrup!) and hopefully the apple bananas too. And the homemade POG! I'd seen POG on menus, but didn't realise that it stood for "passionfruit, orange and guava" - a real favourite with the local kids, and me too.

All in all, the Hilo Honu Inn is a lovely and welcoming place to use as a base when exploring the hidden charms of Hilo, VNP, Akaka Falls, and the rest of the north/east side of the Big Island.

Room Tip: the bali hai suite is gorgeous, but you can't go wrong in one of these. Hilo has coqui frogs, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilo Honu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Honu Inn

Address: 465 Haili Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilo Honu Inn is a recently renovated, craftsman style bed & breakfast located just blocks from downtown Hilo. Spectacular ocean view from Samurai Suite. 10 minutes from the airport and convenient to many area attractions. Great home base for Volcanoes National Park and the east side of the Big Island. See waterfalls and tropical gardens. Visit Mauna Kea observatory and Imiloa Planetarium. Watch sea turtles (honu) swim at local black sand beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilo Honu Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Honu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilo Honu Inn to your Saves list