We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, lovely hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Honu Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilo Honu Inn
465 Haili Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful place, lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We loved the nice, clean, and beautiful B&B, the fabulous and generous breakfast, and our very lovely hosts, Billie & Gay! We look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong: the regular rooms are great, and the Japanese room is the stuff of legends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
86
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was my first stay in the big island and my first ever in a bed and breakfast.We stayed in the Bali-hai suite. It was clean, beautiful, and perfectly decorated with a gorgeous four post bed and air conditioning. Everything that I have read in these reviews is true; Gay and Billy are more than accomodating. They are the quintessential perfect hosts. Charismatic and knowledgeable, friendly and patient, with all the advice you could ever need and an "Aloha" spirit that radiates from within. I loved Hilo, it was a charming town with beautiful waterfalls, located close to Puna, and the Volcano park. My spouse and I found ourselves leaving early in the morning and coming back late in the evening. We traveled to waterfalls, black sand beaches and farmer's markets that gave you a real taste of Hilo, filled with interesting food, souveniers, and a cast of characters that only a town like Hilo could provide. All the reviews are true, Gay and Billy made an amazing breakfast with freshfruit, pancakes and french toast with homemade lilikoi syrup and delicious coffee and smoothies. Gay did give us a Hula dance which held a full captivated audience and she had a wealth of useful knowledge about everything Hawaiian. What I loved the most was their Aloha spirit. Gay and Billy were both easy to talk to and felt like old friends within a couple days.They were the added part of our trip that was so unexpected, but helped to make it a truly magical time while we were there.Their kindness and spirit were authentic and charming. The Big Island ended up being my favorite Island for many reasons and Gay and Billy were a big part of what made my trip unique and special. I am not ashamed to say that as we drove away on the final day my eyes began to fill with tears because I knew that this was an experience I would never forget. Thank you Gay and Billy, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December. Gay and Bill were excellent hosts and breakfast was excellent. We even got a hula performance from Gay one morning. The room was very nice and clean. It was the most comfortable bed we stayed in during our trip to Hawaii. The entire Inn was furnished and decorated very tasteful and interesting. The samurai suite, though we didn't stay there, but received a tour was beautiful! The Inn is also conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, grocery, etc. Gay gave us recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing and even provided travel books and brochures to us. They had umbrellas and other beach equipment available for guests to use during their stay. On the morning we flew out, we had to leave very early so Gay packed some yogurt, granola bars, fruit and juice in our refrigerator the night before. My only complaint is that our room was a bit noisy due to being so close to the street, so we were awaken a few mornings by loud trucks. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone staying in and around Hilo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Our family of four had more than enough room in their Samurai Suite. The master bedroom is a unique and very beautiful Japanese tearoom built within the room (my teenage daughter called this the Inception room). The room, built without nails, was imported from Japan (along with the builder) by the Japanese family that originally owned the home. Expansive views of Hilo and the sound of rain showers at night. Breakfasts from Bill's kitchen were a real treat with fresh fruit, smoothies and our favorite— baked eggs and spinach (all the breakfasts were wonderful). We were treated to Hula dances by Gay on two mornings (she performs with a group, or Halau). She talked about the different meanings of the moves in the dance (much better than the Kau'ai Hyatt Luau) and also shared quite a bit about Hawaiian culture. So much more than just a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spent three nights at the Hilo Honu Inn and had a wonderful experience! Our hosts were kind, outgoing, and thoughtful, not to mention amazing cooks and splendid storytellers. The house and rooms have the look and feel that comes with care and attention to detail. We stayed in the Honu's nest; the bed was soft and comfortable, the bathroom clean and beautifully tiled. Every morning the homemade breakfast was a new and delicious treat. The conversation was lively and our hosts had many stories and recommendations for sights around Hilo and Hawai'i. Our experience was truly unforgettable and it would be a shame to not to visit this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We only had one night in Hilo, but what a night! I had one of the best sleeps of my life. The bed was so comfortable, furnishings were homey and beautiful, and the bathroom was amazing (with a rain shower). Speaking of rain showers, we had a heck of a good one at 1 AM. We got up and sat down on the comfy window seat to take it all in. Wait there's more! When we got up, Gay and Bill had prepared exquisite fresh island fruits and sweet bread french toast with homemade lilikoi syrup. When they discovered how much we love Hawaiian music, Gay cleared the floor and did several hula dances for us. What a special place! Thanks Gay and Bill for making our trip to Hilo so memorable. Hana Ho!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Recently stayed in Hilo Honu Inn for my son's graduation from UH-Hilo. Traveled with a group of 10 including a 3 year old and our stay couldn't have been better. The house is unbelievable and the updates Innkepers Gay and Billy have done are all tasteful and top of the line... especially in all the baths. The panaramic view of Hilo from the Japanese Room on the top floor was indescibable, especially the sunrise over the harbor. Breakfasts were spectacular with fresh fruit, french toast, bacon and eggs, fresh smoothies... they went above and beyond! Gay even delighted us with a Hula each morning which she does beautifully! Attention to detail was everywhere with beach items and coolers to borrow, maps and literature available and their knowledge of all things BIg Island! It was really hard to leave! We WILL return. Aloha, y'all.
Paige from South Carolina

Room Tip: No bad choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilo Honu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Honu Inn

Address: 465 Haili Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilo Honu Inn is a recently renovated, craftsman style bed & breakfast located just blocks from downtown Hilo. Spectacular ocean view from Samurai Suite. 10 minutes from the airport and convenient to many area attractions. Great home base for Volcanoes National Park and the east side of the Big Island. See waterfalls and tropical gardens. Visit Mauna Kea observatory and Imiloa Planetarium. Watch sea turtles (honu) swim at local black sand beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilo Honu Inn Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Honu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilo Honu Inn to your Saves list