We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay Cafe

Hilo Bay Cafe
123 Lihiwai Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808-935-4939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hilo Bay Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Japanese, Hawaiian, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I visited Hilo about 20 years ago and we both remember it as a place where it was really hard to find anything better than just mediocre food. Not so anymore. The Hilo Bay Cafe is outstanding. Everything we ordered was excellent. When we were there they were a couple of weeks away from moving out of the Walmart parking lot to a new location. If we are on Hawaii island again, we will certainly eat here again. It was probably the best meal we had during our week on the island and we had a lot of great food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    161
    54
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“disappointing...DONT go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We went for a birthday celebration with 8 of us because of high rating. Not one of us had a good meal and it was pricey.. hard to find and in a little strip mall. atmosphere poor. all around bad choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Classy and Trendy Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Hilo Bay Café is a classy little gem of a restaurant/bar in an unassuming shopping plaza in Hilo. I ate here once on my own for a late dinner (sat at the bar) after a long day of exploring the Big Island and visiting the Volcanos. The beer selection was great, with several local options to try. I had a burger and fries (garlic-salted!) on my first visit and I was highly impressed - it was an upscale burger, for sure.

I brought three other business travelers back for dinner just a few days later. I ordered the Kauai Shrimp dish this time, and it was luscious and delicious.

This restaurant is a real find in Hilo, and I will definitely dine here when I return to Hilo next time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Read the great reviews so we decided to try this place on Hilo Bay. Very limited menu. Very few fish/seafood options other than sushi. The Mahi-Mahi was small and very pricey. Salmon salad was ok. Basically overrated and overpriced. We were quite disappointed to have wasted one of our 3 nights in Hilo eating here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A New Location and A New Attitude!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fine dining in a scenic area in walking distance of the Liliuokalani Gardens. There are lots of steps. But do not be intimidated. There is an elevator! The ambiance has improved ( no longer a storefront mall restaurant!) Food is excellent with option to eat outdoors. However, make reservations! It's a must! There is a sushi bar within the restaurant with a full menu! A little pricey, but worth it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.