We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good food, average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay Cafe

Hilo Bay Cafe
123 Lihiwai Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808-935-4939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hilo Bay Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Japanese, Hawaiian, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of good food, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

In an old building in downtown Hilo you find Hilo Bay Café. The options for food were wide and varied. We had a pizza that was very good. The soup was also delicious.
Our service was not the best and people were getting served around us while we waited. Who knows.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    161
    54
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unsuspecting pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had read about the restaurant and was not disappointed. There was a variety on the menu for both my grandson and me. Service was good, atmosphere relaxing and enjoyable. Food was well prepared and tasted very good. I would return again. Although it is in a strip shopping center, I found that to be an advantage. I was able to pick up a few things after dinner. I didn't have any trouble parking as a previous reviewer mentioned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average food in a not so lovely location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This location was ranked highly on Yelp with solid reviews. Unfortunately it was a disappointment. Service was friendly but the food didn't stack up. Located in a very busy strip mall, parking was horrible. The food sounded great in the menu, but it didn't deliver on taste. Short ribs were fatty, pot pie was average at best (the chicken was tough). Two if us ordered fish and chips, it was made out of tuna which was VERY dry. Not to mention the malt vinegar they supplied had been replaced with root bear (as a prank or in error and yet we were still chraged for our meals).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped in for lunch after reading some of the reviews and were happy we did. They had a burger special with caramelized onion and cheese which was very good. The hostess was nice and our waiter was friendly. For the quality of food the prices were very reasonable. The place is located in a strip mall near Wal-Mart but the decor inside the restaurant is very modern and fresh. After lunch my daughter got the lava cake dessert. It looks really good and tasted better. This is a great lunch spot with great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant tucked away in a plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location near Walmart undersells a little treasure. Soon they will be moving down near the water (and Suisan fish market - great place to stop in the morning to watch a fish auction as the boats come in). Our dinner was great and the staff was exceptoinally friendly. One of the best places I've found in my multipe trips to Hilo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.