We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U can't go wrong w/ this one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
369 Nene St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“U can't go wrong w/ this one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's location - next to 7 natural beaches & it's own lush tropical setting make this a gem! Claudia, the gracious owner, has the details nicely attended to: snorkel gear, beach towels, umbrellas etc. Rooms are large w/ comforable, kingsized beds, each has a great view of the natural setting & a lovely large clean bathroom attached. The daily fresh breakfasts are so good! Wonderful. Stayed 10 days. Does require car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
36
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in Hilo enjoying At the Beach with Friends. I really liked our hosts Claudia's breakfasts: fresh tropical fruit, homemade granola with greek yogurt and strong coffee. Yumm. Since we were hiking around sites it was good to have plenty to eat and good water to drink.. I loved snorkeling just across the street at Richardson Beach, Had I more time, it would have been fun to do some kayaking. Volcanoes Natl Park, is definitely a "must see site" on Planet earth. After a hard day of touring it was good to get back to a comfortable bed and great shower.We loved the botanical garden just North of Hilo and had our lunch by the waves.
At the beach with friends had good internet service and with sadness, I printed my boarding passes to get our flight back to Honolulu. Thanks to our wonderful hosts who provided our travel advice. I hope we can come back again sometime to see the stars at the observatory and to swim on the Green Beach. Everyday beautiful rainbows reminds me of just how beautiful and precious this creation, our planet, really is. Sure hope future generation will enjoy it too! ALOHA!

Room Tip: Our room had a sliding glass door facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our visit was wonderful. The room was impecably clean, comfortable and beautiful. We loved the sounds of nature and the close proximity to the beach. They have everything to lend for snorkeling, relaxing at the beach, flashlights and bug spray, sunscreen for hiking, it was like being at home. Claudia's cooking is delicious as well. Healthy and decadent.
We highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Hilo staying in a romantic room "at the Beach with Friends". IT was a 25th anniversary trip and we were not disappointed in our decision to go to Hilo for four days. At the Beach with Friends is conveniently located near the airport but one gets the feeling of being in a remote hideaway. The rooms are beautiful, well kept up and the bathroom was luxurious with nice towels and amenities. We lacked nothing. On our first day after a sumptious breakfast prepared by Claudia, the owner, we drove to the Volcanoes Park. There we went hiking, drove through the lava fields., saw the ocean and the volcano at night. Coming home we were able to get into the house easily and have a restful evening. Rooms are equipped with WIFI and TV.

On the second day we took a driving trip to see botanical gardens and the observatory. We also went swimming at Richardson's beach nearby. It was great snorkeling in a safe evironment. We saw a lot of fish and also a large turtle.

On the third day we went swimming , exploring. and went to the market in Hilo.
Sadly we had to fly back to Honolulu but would definitely return to HIlo and at the Beach with Friends in a heartbeat. Claudia and Scott have created a small paradise in HIlo- it was far better than we ever would have imagnedl

Room Tip: We liked our room. it was the last one on the left down the hall. It had a terrace right off it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Just left after spending 3 nights at The Beach with Friends. We wished we had have stayed longer. This B &B was so comfortable, the owner, Claudia so welcoming and friendly. We found it a place to find a balance of great hospitality and time to spend in private moments. The breakfasts were delicious with homemade cereal, muffins and hot food. The room was clean and roomy, lovely comfortable king sized bed. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a wonderful experience during our stay at "At the Beach with Friends" Bed and Breakfast. Claudia is a wonderful hostess and made a delicious cooked breakfast for us and the other residents of the B&B each morning. She obviously prepares meals with love in her heart and an objective of making sure we enjoyed them. I had a special need for protien at breakfast and she accomodated that need. Breakfast is presented at 8:00AM with coffee ready by 7:30AM. Claudia woke with us at 4:30 AM on the morning of our departure and made us coffee, the night before she gave us a take away breakfast of muffins and cheese. Mahalo Claudia.
Our room was clean and prettily prepared for our visit. We thought it was a beautiful room. The linens, bathroom and room were clean. We asked for and received fresh towels each day. It rained often when we were in Hilo, March 24 to 31, 2012, many times it poured rain at night then many times cleared to beautiful sunny days. We enjoyed Hilo and very much enjoyed swimming with turtles at Carl Nelson beach park. We liked Hilo because it is not a pretentious town, with friendly people who are welcoming to visitors.
Once Claudia got done with her morning breakfast chores, she took time to visit with us and the other visitors to the B&B. She is a long time resident of the area and had lots of advice on things to do and places to visit. She also provides equipment for guest to borrow such as snorkel equipment, towels, beach chairs and more.
My husband and I were impressed with this B&B as the home was built for the purpose of being a B&B, not converted from an existing home. I was impressed with the quality of the construction of the building and the thoughtful planning that was done to assure that each room was afforded privacy and access to amenities such as private baths. Sound proofing between rooms is very good, even when all three rooms were occupied, I didn't hear any of the other occupants except for the sound of a shower running. The grounds and building are quite beautiful and is just across the road from the ocean, you can hear the waves from your room, that is if the frogs haven’t fully started singing.
This B&B doesn't have air conditioning so you will want to sleep with your windows open. That means you will either enjoy or endure the Coqui frogs noise. Prepare yourself, and take the time to make a decision about whether you’ll want to sleep, or try to sleep with this sound (click on youtube link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0Ic_3uGzCE ) Claudia kindly provides ear plugs. I eventually got used to the nightly downpours and frog songs. I even began to recognize individual frogs.
Here’s information on the Coqui frogs from the Star Bulletin “Linda Stevens has them in her yard in Leilani Estates, south of Hilo. "Either you get used to it or you go insane," she said. U.S. Department of Agriculture biologist Earl Campbell is working at a field station in Hilo to control them. "On a good night, it's just deafening," he said. … The really noisy Eleutherodactylus coqui is up to 2 inches long and hails from Puerto Rico. It puts out ear-splitting, 100-decibel squeaks -- about as loud as a table saw cutting wood.”

I've stayed at several bed and breakfasts and prefer them to a hotel. The experience of staying in a family environment is one that I treasure.

Room Tip: We had a great experience at this B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I just returned from a two week stay At the BeachWith Friends and it was just that. Claudia was a wonderful hostesss and very knowledgeable about Hawaiian customs, history and culture. She was very accommodating and always smiling. She knows the all the best spots on the island for all kinds of activities and their history. Her breakfasts are delicious and filling! There was always plenty of food. Her homemade muffins each day were a special treat, she made a different kind each day, and she always made sure that we had them. Even when we had an early day planned, she would made breakfast early for us or if we planned to be gone the entire day, she would supply us with a To Go Breakfast. The location is great, on a quiet street within a couple of blocks of Richardson Beach. The house is set around several (or one big) pond/s and in the jungle, so there are a lot of frog and other nocturnal noises. They did not bother me, I thought it was kind of like those sleep machine sounds. There is no air conditioning cause you don't really need it if you keep the windows open.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Address: 369 Nene St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest wing on a lagoon across from Hilo's favorite swimming beaches. Luxury ocean view accommodations for $150-$175, king beds, ensuite baths, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, computer with highspeed internet, common sitting room/lounge area, games, books, & hot buffet breakfast. Small refrigerators in room and tea service available in common room. Triple room available. Beach towels, folding chairs,coolers flashlights and umbrellas on hand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Beach With Friends Hotel Hilo
At The Beach With Friends Bed And Breakfast
At The Beach With Friends Bed & Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.