We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, great location, wonderful food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
369 Nene St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere, great location, wonderful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I just returned from a two week stay At the BeachWith Friends and it was just that. Claudia was a wonderful hostesss and very knowledgeable about Hawaiian customs, history and culture. She was very accommodating and always smiling. She knows the all the best spots on the island for all kinds of activities and their history. Her breakfasts are delicious and filling! There was always plenty of food. Her homemade muffins each day were a special treat, she made a different kind each day, and she always made sure that we had them. Even when we had an early day planned, she would made breakfast early for us or if we planned to be gone the entire day, she would supply us with a To Go Breakfast. The location is great, on a quiet street within a couple of blocks of Richardson Beach. The house is set around several (or one big) pond/s and in the jungle, so there are a lot of frog and other nocturnal noises. They did not bother me, I thought it was kind of like those sleep machine sounds. There is no air conditioning cause you don't really need it if you keep the windows open.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
33
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We made a mistake with the dates in our reservation and ended up on Claudia, the owners, door step a month early. It could have been a disaster but Claudia was so forgiving, told us to relax and prepared a room for us. A hotel would probably have told us to take a hike and charged for the mistake. Instead we had our room for two nights in this interesting home surrounding by a tropical garden with a pond, birds, frogs and other types of island bird and wildlife. It's about a block to Richardson's Beach where you can swim and snorkel in protected areas and an easy drive back to the center of Hilo for restaurants, the Pacific Tsumami Museum (a must see), Rainbow Falls and other attractions. Claudia serves a full cooked breakfast complete with local island fruits, lovely breads and makes some outstanding peanut butter muffins. Thanks so much Claudia for your spirit of Aloha, making us feel welcome and taking such good care of these crazy travelers in our time of need. You are the best!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this B&B during our trip to The Big Island in October 2010. Overall we were disappointed with our stay here. The good: the room was fairly comfortable, the surrounding property was nice, and the location was convenient for our purposes (we were really only there to check out the Volcanoes National Park which is why we chose to stay in Hilo). Claudia was helpful in providing suggestions on things to do and where to eat in the area. The bad: the room looked clean on the surface, but upon closer inspection they were not as clean as they could have been (occasional dust & hair found in room). Upon our arrival, we were asked what time we were planning to wake up the next morning, and when we said maybe around 7am, Claudia said she "may or may not" wake up to get our breakfast ready, but that she would leave stuff out for us the night before. She gave us instructions on how to switch on the coffee maker ourselves. I don't know about other people, but part of the reason why I like staying at B&Bs is getting that nice home-cooked hot breakfast in the morning. She did leave us the cooler with sandwich wraps to take with us for the day, however after the first few bites, my husband found a hair in his wrap. And the next morning when we had to leave for our flight and decided to skip breakfast (esp. due to our unpleasant breakfast experience the day before), Claudia seemed upset that she had gone through the trouble to buy bread for us and we weren't staying to eat it. To add insult to injury, when I got home, I realized she had double charged us for the stay. To her credit, she was very quick to apologize and reverse the charge after I emailed her to point out the error. One last warning - if you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you. At night the "nature noises" from outside were VERY loud and it was difficult to sleep, especially since we were battling jet leg.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
We serve a hot breakfast everyday from 8:00 AM until 9:30 AM. For those guests with early appointments or prefer to leave very early we offer a grab and go breakfast and ready the coffee pot so they can start the coffee at a time of their preference.

I apologise for any unpleasantness. We are commited to making your visit to the Big Island a successful one. It is a balancing act.

Claudia, innkeeper and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We were looking for a place close to the volcanoes and ocean. This was the perfect pick. Although we had no trouble sleeping earplugs were supplied in the event the sounds of the rainforest "nightlife" was too much. As there were 3 of us we were thrilled to find a B&B where we could all stay in the same room. Great value, great location, & great food. A special treat was finding a small refrigerator in our room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying at this property. The house is just a few minutes drive from downtown Hilo, so the location is great. Our hosts were wonderful. Claudia is a great cook and our breakfasts were really tasting -- more food than we could eat. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and very comfortable beds, pillows, linens, and towels.

We did have a bit of trouble connecting with Claudia on check-in, but she graciously offered us dinner on her which really wasn't necessary. The frogs at night are a bit loud -- actually quite loud, but the noise was solved by closing the windows. By the second night I was aclimated and they didn't bother me again.

We look forward to returning. It's a great home base to visit the Botanical Tropical Gardens and Volcano National Park. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My God, after my last terrible experience in Noosa, Australia, this place was a breath of fresh air!!! (If you are thinking of visiting Noosa, read my other review). My wife and I had two wonderful nights at this place while visiting Hawai'i on the tail-end of our honeymoon. The host 'Claudia' kindly upgraded our room upon arrival, due to the more expensive room option simply being vacant! The location was relaxing, private and peaceful, with the beach just across the road. The breakfast was AMAZING! Claudia put on a fantastic breakfast with all sorts of yummy treats! If Claudia's breakfasts don't satisfy you then nothing will! And Claudia... what a lovely person! Friendly, great cook, and full of interesting stories! If you stay here take the time to have a chat with Claudia and you will learn a lot of interesting stuff. If you are visiting Hilo this is one place you will feel at home, but at the same time have your privacy as well as experience good conversation and a great brekky. Hoorah for Claudia!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We recently spent two nights at this B&B and had a very enjoyable experience. The room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed having breakfast each morning with Claudia and loved the freshly baked muffins and fresh fruit. The lush grounds of the B&B were neat and this was a great location for exploring the Hilo side of the Big Island. We would certainly recommend this B&B to others!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Address: 369 Nene St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest wing on a lagoon across from Hilo's favorite swimming beaches. Luxury ocean view accommodations for $150-$175, king beds, ensuite baths, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, computer with highspeed internet, common sitting room/lounge area, games, books, & hot buffet breakfast. Small refrigerators in room and tea service available in common room. Triple room available. Beach towels, folding chairs,coolers flashlights and umbrellas on hand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Beach With Friends Hotel Hilo
At The Beach With Friends Bed And Breakfast
At The Beach With Friends Bed & Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list