We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bears Coffee experence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bears Coffee

Bears Coffee
106 Keawe St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2812
808-935-0708
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Hilo
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bears Coffee experence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a great place for breakfast! The Iced Toddy Coffee is the best a must order! The souffled eggs are light and fluffy never had them before Bears. The server can't remember her name right now was great she was an older hippy type and really knew her stuff. Terry the owner was a hoot!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good spot for breakfast and coffee. The spinach buster was delicious! Try the fresh half papaya, too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wake up Bear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great place to eat breakfast and get your morning coffee, if you sit outside the sun will rise right in front of you. I recommend their mexican coffee mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tasting coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We just loved the coffee- great taste. The people who run it are so interesting to talk to.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“Bears was great for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Hubby had the Ham Buster on two different occasions. Eggs with ham and melted cheese on top, including toast, for four bucks. He found it delicious and filling. I had the Belgian waffle, very nice, and an onion bagel with cream cheese, scrumptious! Good coffee as well. Good prices for everything. Terry (the owner) was very friendly and welcoming. We had prompt service during each of our five visits. The bathroom needs a good clean, but overall we enjoyed our visits to Bears very much. Thanks Terry, and we hope to visit again when we return to beautiful Hilo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bears Coffee also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bears Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bears Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.