We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puka Puka Kitchen

Puka Puka Kitchen
270 Kamehameha Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2836
808-933-2121
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 205 Restaurants in Hilo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Popular Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Small hole in the wall on the main street. If you blink you'd miss it. Interesting brief menu and the place always seems busy. Take away options. The fish was great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VERY Fresh & VERY Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

3 Table restaurant but very friendly and awesome food, very fresh quality, good cooks. Fish and Lamb, nice selections and take out Bento boxes too! Ahi Don is my favorite. The small room needs decor but the food makes up for that. My husbands favorite is the falafel !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place is a hole-in-the-wall. It has like 3 tables. But wow! The food is amazing, and I don't even like Indian inspired food. I wasn't even hungry when I sat down either. But I ended up inhaling the food because it was so good. First, not much selections for kids. My son ate some fried dumplings. He liked it but we could tell it was a bit overfried. I ordered the fried fish, curry rice and salad. Wow! amazing food. It was really really great. Tasty rice. Fish was fresh and mildly flavored. The salad had a light dressing that I enjoyed very much. Our server was very friendly. Although we ate there for lunch, it's a great place to grab a takeout lunch (bento) and take it on your way to Volcano National Park.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliua, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go early if you want a bento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We got takeout from puka puka and took it to our hike at Akaka Falls. I'd call our food high brow plate lunch. I had ahi katsu or some kind of fish and garlic rice since they were out of white rice, and green papaya slaw. My kids ate most of the fish so I think it was really good. The slaw was great, fresh and tangy and a great compliment to the rice and food. My husband had BBQ chicken which we expected to be Hawaiian style BBQ but instead got Cajun style chix.
The restaurant is really tiny. Order your food to go and take it to any great Hilo site.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stopped at Puka Puka Kitchen and picked up Bento boxes for our day at Kilauea. It was a great plan, and the food was delicious. Service was friendly, prices were very, very reasonable, and all together, this made for a perfect picnic lunch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Puka Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Puka Puka Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puka Puka Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.