We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Rice Noodles Soup

Hilo Rice Noodles Soup
1990 Kinoole St, Ste 106, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808-981-5841
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #51 of 199 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This small family place has great service and the food is reasonably priced and good. Love the Vietnamese dishes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    12
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is our favourite place to eat in all of Hilo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is our very favourite place to eat in all of Hilo! The owners and staff are GREAT! They remember you and we quickly became regulars. They always remember our order. We get #14 Po Tai Nahm (sp) and those absolutely DELICIOUS SUMMER ROLLS. For those of you who do not know summer rolls are NOT FRIED! They are made with a soft delicate noodle paper. They have sprouts, shrimp, lettuce, cilantro, basil? in them. Just healthy and good! This place has the BIGGEST and BEST. WE have been to other places that have them but they are only half as big and cost as much or more. They also have a GREAT peanut sauce that comes with them. We like it better than another Thai restaurant we had them at. We also love this place for their great attitude toward ordering MORE side veggie plates. I like their sprouts, cilantro, basil and lime plate to add to my soup #14 beef with noodles Po Tai Nahm (sp). Their soup is SO good it is I swear medicinal!!! I always FEEL better after going there to eat. The only drawback is they do not serve alcohol, I'd love it if they served sake!!! Lost of Japanese seem to know about this place. Their prices are also very reasonable! My husband loves their salt fish rice plate. Many people love the lettuce wraps to I notice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Local Noodle place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good food with low prices and the service is great at this place. Check out the noodle house special with crispy noodles. You will have to ask how to find this place. Outside not fancy at all but food IS GOOD!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best honey chicken ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love this restaurant, they have great food and really nice people working
Their lunch plates are excellent and you can also take away
Its off the route of the tourists so there is always place to sit down and relax
It’s a perfect choice for a rainy day in HILO

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the soft green seas of the Pacific Ocean
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gotta Look to Find This Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

HRNS is a bit hard to find since it's off the beaten path on the outskirts of Hilo town. They serve Vietnamese and Chinese foods that are, when at their best, divine. Using mostly local ingredients the kitchen turns out excellent Pho (my favorite is the Pho Ga, or Chicken Noodle Soup) and garlic spinach, among other specialities.
The ambience and service is local, which in Hilo means nothing to write home about, but it is serviceable.
The problem is that the things the kitchen turns out are not consistent in size, quality and sometimes, flavor. They have the ability to cook great dishes, but do not always do so.
They are usually very busy at lunchtime, so get there during off-hours for best experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Rice Noodles Soup also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Rice Noodles Soup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Rice Noodles Soup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.