We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naung Mai Thai Kitchen

Naung Mai Thai Kitchen
86 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2906
+1 808-934-7540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 190 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Naung Mai Thai Kitchen has a long standing reputation for serving the best Thai food in Hilo. This quintessential "hole in the wall" has become a favorite among locals and visitors alike. Located just blocks from the Hilo Farmer's Market, the chefs gather the freshest ingredients, choosing organic and local products whenever possible; the results are simply delicious!
Norwich, CT, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Worth looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Parking is terrible in the area, the restaurant is hard to find, and seating is limited, but the food is worth the effort.

We ate a late lunch here. Appetizer of fried tofu is huge, we split it 3 ways. The peanut dipping sauce is great. Vegetarian options available with tofu and lots of vegetables. We ordered Funn noodles, Silver Noodles, and Pineapple Curry, all three were perfectly spiced and the portions were satisfying. Thai tea was good. We would eat here often if we were locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for our first night in Hilo. Really great and expansive menu, but not to the point that it was overwhelming. yummy spring rolls and great sauce for the fried tofu. The Panang curry was really good with well cooked veggies and chicken in a great sauce and just the right amount of heat. The crispy noodles had this delicious and really satisfying sauce. The massaman curry was incredibly creamy and delicious and filled with goodies. Finally, the pad see ew was anything but "ew" and was probably the best I have ever had. Great noodles, awesome flavor on the beef, lots of veggies, nice heat. A really great meal!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you like authentic Thai with lots of vegetables and some you may not recognize, this is the place to eat in Hilo. Small and tucked away, it's got one of the best desserts ever - and brace yourself, I know this sounds a bit odd, but it's the Combination (warm tapioca pudding served over ice cream - try the ginger, and topped with a strawberry. We were driving back from the other side of the island and I asked if anyone was interested in stopping just to get the dessert and no one made a sound. I thought perhaps no one was interested, but when I turned around, all six people seated behind me in the van had their hands raised. Uh-huh. It's THAT good!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Three stars is a gift...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

because this restaurant resides somewhere between two and three stars. Food is edible and unremarkable BUT a small step up from the average Hilo restaurant. Whyohwhoyohwhy does Hilo have so many undistinguished eateries?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food - tucked away on a side street in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Red Curry, Green Curry, Pumpkin Curry. Delicious food, very fresh. Generous portions. We chose medium hotness which was just right for me. Very pleasant atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naung Mai Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Naung Mai Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naung Mai Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.