We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naung Mai Thai Kitchen

Naung Mai Thai Kitchen
86 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2906
+1 808-934-7540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 193 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Naung Mai Thai Kitchen has a long standing reputation for serving the best Thai food in Hilo. This quintessential "hole in the wall" has become a favorite among locals and visitors alike. Located just blocks from the Hilo Farmer's Market, the chefs gather the freshest ingredients, choosing organic and local products whenever possible; the results are simply delicious!
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you like authentic Thai with lots of vegetables and some you may not recognize, this is the place to eat in Hilo. Small and tucked away, it's got one of the best desserts ever - and brace yourself, I know this sounds a bit odd, but it's the Combination (warm tapioca pudding served over ice cream - try the ginger, and topped with a strawberry. We were driving back from the other side of the island and I asked if anyone was interested in stopping just to get the dessert and no one made a sound. I thought perhaps no one was interested, but when I turned around, all six people seated behind me in the van had their hands raised. Uh-huh. It's THAT good!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Three stars is a gift...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

because this restaurant resides somewhere between two and three stars. Food is edible and unremarkable BUT a small step up from the average Hilo restaurant. Whyohwhoyohwhy does Hilo have so many undistinguished eateries?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food - tucked away on a side street in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Red Curry, Green Curry, Pumpkin Curry. Delicious food, very fresh. Generous portions. We chose medium hotness which was just right for me. Very pleasant atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We happened upon this thai restaurant after leaving a "Not so Sushi Bar". We were greeted with a warm friendly smile, and seated. We odered a couple of dishes... Chicken Satay and Coconut Curry Soup. Both were great!!! We will be back

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hole in the wall place with little atmosphere but has good solid thai food at moderate prices for Hilo...if you can find it...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naung Mai Thai Kitchen also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Naung Mai Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naung Mai Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.