We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai Cusine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naung Mai Thai Kitchen

Naung Mai Thai Kitchen
86 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2906
+1 808-934-7540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 193 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Naung Mai Thai Kitchen has a long standing reputation for serving the best Thai food in Hilo. This quintessential "hole in the wall" has become a favorite among locals and visitors alike. Located just blocks from the Hilo Farmer's Market, the chefs gather the freshest ingredients, choosing organic and local products whenever possible; the results are simply delicious!
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hole in the wall place with little atmosphere but has good solid thai food at moderate prices for Hilo...if you can find it...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The Thai iced tea was excellent. We also ordered the chicken Rama and the tilapia. The portions were huge and the food was ok. The service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent thai food! Cute, unique location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

You will not be disappointed if you come to Naung Mai Thai Kitchen! My husband and I found the place in Hawaii: the Big Island Revealed guide book by Andrew Doughty (a MUST if you're going to any island....the use guide books for all the accessible islands). Anywho, we thought about another place, but when we arrived, it was closed for the month of June. Not to worry. Naung Mai Thai was open. Very unique cute location. Small seating (which, in my opinion, means it's probably better). Nice owners.

None of that means anything unless the food is good.

The food was OUTSTANDING! I eat Thai food all the time. This is really up there with the best of the Thai place I've eaten at. I had the chicken rama. To die for!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Low-Key Atmosphere, Spicy Dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Even on an uncrowded Thursday evening, the service was slow. The four of us ordered separate entrees and a bowl of brown rice to share. The spring roll appetizers were large but difficult to eat neatly. Massaman curry was the consensus favorite. Chicken with cashew was simple but unremarkable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This little Thai restaurant on a back street in Hilo is a gem. The service is good. The staff are all friendly & make returning customers feel at home. Great Thai food that is very reasonably priced. An authentic Thai dining experience... It is a regular stop when we wish to have a meal while we are in Hilo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naung Mai Thai Kitchen also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Naung Mai Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naung Mai Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.