We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai in Hilo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant

Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant
70 Mamo St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2954
808-238-5068
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 191 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Thai in Hilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you like Thai food this is a nice place to try when on the East side of the Island. It was my first experience with Thai iced tea and I've been drinking it ever since. They serve all the traditional foods and everything my family had was enjoyable. Simple environment, but you can bring the whole family.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic food great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great food very authentic flavors. Been to Thailand many times and the food tastes very close. Massaman curry is awesome and try the thai garlic salmon. Owners very friendly cozy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Correction: Royal Siam in Hilo, Hawaii is open for business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

In March of 2012, I wrote a review stating that the restaurant was closed. The sign they placed in the window, "Royal Siam is now closed" seemed so final.

Recently, I was surprised to see the restaurant open again.

Please give them a try, their food is delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We ate there recently, it was delicious, but I think they are closed for business.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I remember this restaurant from the mid 80's, not sure how long it has been there. The yellow curry was delicious. Pong was an inviting host as he took our orders and brought us our food. I think his wife was cooking the food. Unfortunately, a few weeks after we ate there, I saw a "closed for business" sign in the window. The funny thing is that other signage in the window still makes it appear to be an active restaurant.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptionally fresh and tasty Thai fool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Royal Siam is a small, kind of older Hilo restaurant. Decor is nothing fancy, but the food is excellent. My family and I went twice during our stay in Hilo and loved the fresh seafood dishes. Service was great. Very economical.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.