We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miyos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miyo's

Miyo's
564 Hinano St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4378
(808) 935-2273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 212 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Miyos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

love the place- really good food (usually) and often a musician on guitar. Reservations REALLY RECOMMENDED. I guess being in a hurry wont work, but the food is so fresh, and abundant salad w/ homemade dressing. I like their curry don plate w/ ahi or salmon - well there are many good dishes. Home made ice cream too- if you've any room left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    65
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“4 visits in one month!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Actually, we are off to Miyo's again. the food is great...the only thing is that you have to work to make sure that the serving staff doesn't forget you, or forget to bring your tea or water. the restaurant is conveniently located. The food is consistently good. Their salads are fresh and beautifully presented, and I personally love their dressing. Everyone has a good time every time we go there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On Wednesday, we ate at Miyo's in Hilo. We arrived at 11:15 only to find the place packed with people but luckily we made reservations. As the place was packed inside and outside, service was slow. After taking our orders, we had our meeting which took only about 10 minutes. Unfortunately we waited over half an hour to get our meals. I wasn't impressed with the amount of food of my order, the teriyaki beef was a little tough. The food had a good flavor but for the price I expected more food than we got. If you plan to eat there, go earlier than 11 am or early dinner. I honestly won't be going there anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good local Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

In the last two days, we have eaten dinner and lunch at Miyo's at their new location. The service was very friendly although it was a little harried at dinner due to a big crowd. The food is really good. I had grilled Hamachi with sautéed eggplants, salad and rice and my husband had a bento box with tempura and broiled Saba. We went back for lunch today and I had a bento box lunch with grilled Saba, a cold tofu salad with seaweed and shrimp and vegetable tempura. Everything was delicious. They don't serve alcohol so you may bring your own.
The new location isn't as picturesque but it seats more people and is a light, comfortable space. There is plenty of parking. I would make a reservation for dinner because it is very popular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“better than other "Japanese" places in Hilo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

New location, same bad service. The staff almost seems inconvenienced to help you. Be prepared to wait and wait, even though there is about ten cooks in the open kitchen. The tempura was not crispy but oily and the dipping sauce was not flavorful. The sesame chicken had a tasty sauce but was over cooked, same with the pork tonkatsu. The portions were small for the guys who ordered the three choice bento boxes. The waitress never re-filled our water. Would have liked hot tea with the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyo's also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Miyo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.