We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miyo's

Miyo's
564 Hinano St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4378
(808) 935-2273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

when asked about my favorite eatery in the Hilo, Hawaii area it is always Moyo's that tops the list. The food, atmosphere and service are waonderful. The restaurant is in the process of relocating (and may have already) so I will visit soon to see if anything has been lost or gained!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    61
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

this place was hard to find at night. but they are moving to a strip mall so it will be easier to find. they had a guitar player there when we were there.
we had really good japanese food there. they don't have a liquor license so bring your own bottle.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food with a local flair.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Miyo's Japanese food is traditional, but with a touch of Hilo. Fresh salads and well prepared entrees. My favorites are sesame chicken salad and a sashimi/tempura combo.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“View, food and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great gathering spot next to Wailoa Lagoon with a view of the park in one direction, ocean straight out and Mauna Kea in the other direction. The complex in which this restaurant has been located for decades is going through some financial upheavals and Miyo's may move. We'll just have to see how things shake out in the next few months.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent basic Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch was very good. We had one of their special combination lunches, sashimi and tempura. The sashimi was tuna, fresh and very good. The tempura was cooked right. The meal was very good local fare from Japan. The building could use an update.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyo's also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Miyo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.