We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun, sports bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cronies

Cronies
11 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2433
(808) 935-5158
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Basking Ridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“fun, sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a great, fun sports bar. We went around St. Patrick's Day and the NCAA tournament and it was a great atmosphere. Good burger, great margarita.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    63
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice dinner in a casual setting. Friendly staff and service. Disappointed that my iced tea wasn't refilled, however the Kalua Pig and Pineapple pizza was excellent. We'll be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day of hiking and sun, we needed some food. The locals recommended Cronies. The food tasted great and was fresh.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Cronies has been around for a long time in Hilo town. If you're looking for a good juicy homemade Burger.....cronies is your Burger joint!

Burgers are made in house and cooked to your perfection. They do also have sandwiches, salads, steak, and pasta. I believe fish and chips as well.

You'll definitely get your moneys worth here at Cronies, compared to other joints in Hilo.

My favorite here at cronies is the mushroom and Swiss Burger and the double BLT.

Hope this helps.....enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Food and service were just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pricey for what you get.
Although the restaurant was almost empty when we arrived at lunch time, we had to wait at least 10 minutes before being seated.
Food and service were just okay.
That restaurant does have rest room of its own - not obvious in Hawaii.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cronies also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cronies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cronies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.