We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's House of Pancakes

Ken's House of Pancakes
1730 Kamehameha Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4639
8089358711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 190 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Edmonton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Even before arriving to Hilo, I knew that I wanted to try this restaurant! It did not disappoint! Waitress was awesome, super friendly. Food arrive fairly quickly and was really inexpensive. I had the oxtail stew (which was so big to could probably have fed all 3 of us, my husband had the roast and my daughter had the pancakes (which was great because we got to try the syrups!!) Loved the passionfruit, guava and coconut syrup. So delectable!! If we ever go back to the big island, we will definitely find Ken!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    453
    159
    50
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great 24 hour food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Pancakes are xlnt....but all menu items I had were great.....
and it's just moments from the Banyan Drive Hotel Row

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Omelette”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I liked the classic diner atmosphere. Lots of hustle and bustle. I ordered a crab omelette. At $15 you might expect some crab meat to be in there. I think one may have just scuttled through, but that's about it. It was very large - probably more than a person should safely eat for breakfast. Perhaps it's my own fault though, when you go to a house of Pancakes, order the pancakes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Decent Prices, Comfortable Seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's a typical diner setting Anytown, USA. Nothing fancy, but did notice the exceptionally comfortable chairs. This is important because most places intentionally give you uncomfortable seating in an effort to move you along. Staff was a little cold on arrival, but like most people on this planet, if you're friendly, they'll be friendly in return.

Food was pretty good all around the table. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is a house of pancakes, and much more. Their omelets are huge and tasty, everything looks delicious. Get your fish just the way you want it...Ono Grinds!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken's House of Pancakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.