We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, love the Sunrise Iced tea, Gluten Friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pesto

Cafe Pesto
308 Kamehameha Ave Ste 101, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2960
+1 808-969-6640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mamo Street
Transit: Bus stop across street.
Description: Cafe Pesto offers creative and locally fresh Island cuisine in a casually elegant setting at truly affordable prices. It's menu draws from the diverse multicultural influences found throughout the Big Island and applies them to wood fired pizzas, ethnically inspired pastas, risottos, the freshest of seafood and organic salads.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, love the Sunrise Iced tea, Gluten Friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

When we drive to Hilo, Cafe Pesto is a common stop for us for lunch. It smells great from the moment you walk in. The gluten free options are few but they are very willing to accommodate and clearly understand the meaning of "no gluten." They are now making most of there soups gluten free and they are delicious! Thank you for doing this, please extend your options so I have more to chose from.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    311
    87
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pineapple topping is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The smoked ham and pineapple pizza is to die for. The heat brings out all the sweetness in the fresh pineapple. This is a quiet, clean place just off the main street in town. The service was excellent--probably among the best we had in Hawaii over a two-week stay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had the grilled chicken & Hamakua mushroom risotto while my spouse had the Santa Fe chicken pasta. Both dishes were delicious plus the portions were generous. We were too stuffed so had to pass on dessert. The ambience was nice with a musician singing and playing the keyboard. We always visit this place whenever we're in town.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food with a natural flair.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was a bit apprehensive on entering this one with some homeless on the streets. Not crazy like other big cities, but they were there. A bit annoying to have bathrooms in the hallway near the entrance and not in the restaurant. You had to ask for a key code to enter the bathrooms. Annoying, but also understandable with the homeless issue. All that aside. The pizzas we got were great and the fish dish I got was awesome. Good local and some organic/sustainable ingredients. Prices were decent. All a bit high, bit normal for Hawaii I think.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went for dinner, started with a fruity margarita with a spicey/fruit/salty rimmer, delish. I had the seared poke spinach salad. Was really really good. The dressing/poke marinade was phenomenal, spinach was fresh and crisp. The waitress was really attentive and courteous. After I (my bf) spilled and half finished drink, she insisted on making me a new one for no charge. Whe I was debating on getting the spinach salad or the more expensive appetizer special, she recommended the salad. And it was a great suggestion.
There's also a cute little art gallery in the mall where we bought a couple small prints, a lot of local artists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.