We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended and a right call” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pesto

Cafe Pesto
308 Kamehameha Ave Ste 101, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2960
808-969-6640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Pesto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 203 restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mamo Street
Transit: Bus stop across street.
Description: Cafe Pesto offers creative and locally fresh Island cuisine in a casually elegant setting at truly affordable prices. It's menu draws from the diverse multicultural influences found throughout the Big Island and applies them to wood fired pizzas, ethnically inspired pastas, risottos, the freshest of seafood and organic salads.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Highly recommended and a right call”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We needed a quick dinner in Hilo before driving to our resort. Cafe Pesto was very good for us. I had the regular Pizza and it was not the best pizza I have ever had, but close. And I am hard to please for pizza, most places are just poor.

My wife had a chicken pesto dinner and hers was very good also. There was also a decent guitar player/singer and a girl that did a pretty good hula. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    343
    257
    78
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food caring staff and super bartenders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have eaten the Greek salad very Ono the pizza very good and the onomea sandwich great. The staff is friendly and is always with a smile. The bartenders are fast friendly and always greet you. I always enjoy eating there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really great food with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The food, service and location were all outstanding. We enjoyed so much the first time that we went back again when we were in Hilo the next day. We all had different foods, we all shared a bit with each other and the four of us were all delighted with the food and the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location/nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent 2 weeks on the Big Island of Hawaii (we have been coming here for 20+ years) most of it on the Kona Coast. What would a trip to the Big Island be with out seeing Volcanoes Nat. Park?
So we found ourselves in Hilo for the night (a Monday in late April) and noted that our dining options were very limited. I mention that we spent time on the Kona Coast just because the area is very well visited and there are many upscale dining options-back to Hilo.
The location on the water front was great, the staff was attentive, the menu had lots of choices and the bar was well stocked. The restaurant had a civilized feel to it which I had not experienced on previous trips to Hilo. I love local fish and produce and Cafe Pesto is literally right around the corner from the famed Hilo Farmers Market.
Thank goodness that Cafe Pesto delivered because I was beginning to worry walking by vacant store fronts and closed "local restaurants".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another Outstanding Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Every time we get to Hilo we have two place we go for meals. Cafe Pesto has a large, varied menu and every visit has been a great experience. My seafood stromboli sounded intriguing and it was something I had never seen before. It did not disappoint! It was full of cheese and large pieces of fish and the crust was perfect. The other 3 people in my party also had great lunches. Perfect for before or after visiting the Hilo market.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.