We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pescatore - CLOSED

Pescatore
235 Keawe St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2825
808-969-9090
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
irving
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aweful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Do not come here! The food was aweful, service was aweful, generally aweful. I didnt think it was possible to screw up italian but you definitely can. It was fairly cheap so I was able to go get something good afterwards. I had the catch of the day and eggs and it was no where near good. DO NOT COME HERE... unless you like old people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Horrible. Pricey and unsatisfying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Went there just to try something new and I wish I hadn't! Not only was the food expensive but it was small portions!! Would've been okay if the food tasted great but it didn't. Better off ordering from McDonald's, at least you would be full. Never going there again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian I've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First visit, but we will definitely go back next year when in Hilo. Warm, friendly hostess. Waiter obviously enjoyed his job and describing the food, making suggestions, etc.
I had the best Eggplant Marinara that I can remember, and I order it rather frequently, plus a side of Zitti with fresh Parmesan cheese, excellent dinner rolls, topped off with the most delicious chocolate hazelnut ice cream. My husband had Shrimp and Chicken in an Alfredo sauce. It was very good, but the sauce was a bit thick for his taste.
Servings are generous, so we had enough left for dinner the next day. Essentially cuts the cost in half.
The decor is a very warm, victorian style, tables far enough apart that you have a sense of privacy; soft, relaxing music. A very enjoyable experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. In fact I was having such a nice time I forgot my purse under the table and did not realize it until the next morning. Bit of a panic since we were leaving the BI the next day.
I called and they said it was there. Nothing had been touched; cash, credit cards, etc. all intact. Just added to the warm feeling I already had for the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Almost great, but a favorite anyway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Pescatore was highly recommended to us by our long-time Hilo resident landlords. When we walk into Pescatore, we are always welcomed by one of the friendly staff members. The dining room is intimate and charming, and they have soft music playing in the background. Art on the walls is very appealing. We've had lunch there once and dinner twice. The food doesn't "wow" us, but it is consistently good and filling. We like that the restaurant is so close to the historic Hilo Palace Theater, and we dine before or after shows. We're becoming regulars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My favorite pasta place in town.
Hot fresh rolls. Great blue cheese dressing. Awesome chocolate hazelnut ice-cream.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescatore also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pescatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.