We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi, no bar, ambeinnce lacking. Locals place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sushi Deli

Ocean Sushi Deli
250 Keawe St, Ste C, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2853
808-961-6625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 204 restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Salt LakeCity
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, no bar, ambeinnce lacking. Locals place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a locals, side-street Hilo sushi joint. The place is remarkabley pedestrian in decor, feels a little more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, which made think twice upon walking in. But amazingly enough they've got saucy waitresses and very good sushi, just like some of the best places in SanFran.

I had miso soup, sake nigiri, spicy tuna handroll (had seconds on that, yummy) and a spider roll (not very adventurous am i?) All was very good, very fresh and well presented. quick too, the guys behind the counter were jumping. No sushi bar, just tables in two adjoining sparsely furnished rooms.

Here is a place that if they got a liquor license and spent $80K remodeling would en the best sushi place on the island. As it is, it's a very good place to go grab sushi then scoot someplace else to hang out. Definitely worth a visit if you are jonesing for sushi.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    44
    37
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor Service, So,So Sushi, Haole not welcome!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We walked into a room 1/2 full of people, and no one ever asked to seat us. So we walked over to the 2 servers and asked where we could sit. After another 10 min. we were asked "What you want" by our not so nice server. He acted like he didn't want to serve a haole. We ordered 3 rolls, and a bento box. It took another 15-20 min. to get our food. The hot items were cold, and 2 out of my 3 rolls were not what was stated in the menu. The 2 servers NEVER came back to our table, but they did help every other table that was non haole.... We Will Never Go Back - Period

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Truly a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

From the outside you would never suspect the great sushi inside. We had gone to another sushi place to have lunch, it was 1:45 and many places close from 2-5:30, they were having a slow day so they said they were already closed. On to Ocean Sushi. We walked in exactly at 2pm and they gladly seated us. We dined on the special rolls of the day. They were great and we walked out stuffed for under $25. No atmosphere but great sushi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“okay sushi, poor service, dirty interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Sushi was alright, not terrible but not amazing. The prices definitely made up for the so-so sushi though, very inexpensive. Lots of food for two and less tan 50$. The interior is all plain white, not a single thing hanging on the walls. The table was sticky even after it was wiped down, the bathrooms were definitely the 'squating' type, and the service was a disappointment. You wander in, seat youself because no one is seating you, and hope a menu is dropped off within 10 minutes. We'd be craning our neck to spot a waitress and then even raising our hand to get her to come see us. There were times she was at the table right next to us and ignored dirty plates, empty waters, ect. The place was full of locals and they seemed to be served and fed in no time, so maybe the poor service was just for us?

Either way, I won't be back and I wouldn't recommend it. Surely there has to be a decent place to get a bite of sushi in Hilo that doesn't mean sticky elbows and poor service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaaloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I could eat here all the time. Delicious! Great variety of menu options and friendly service. Daily specials also available. Check it out!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sushi Deli also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii

Been to Ocean Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sushi Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.