We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine

Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine
332 Kiawe St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
(808)238-5324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 190 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stopped at this restaurant one evening in October 2014 during our trip at Hawaii. The food was good, the beer (a pitcher of Lavaman Red Ale Longboard) was delicious and the perfect atmosphere for two weary travelers of their day away. The place is airy and a bit noisy. It suits more to those who want to relax and unwind than to those looking to make a couple meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    102
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Lovely breeze through two open sides of the building. Fresh fish! Ahi poke was melt in your mouth. We had salads- fresh greens with excellent ahi, fish and chips were great, macadamia chicken and garlic mash recommended by our teenage son. Service excellent. Hilo is a bit rustic, but I recommend the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strong drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food was great and the staff were attentive and cheerful. The pinacolado was way too strong for me. I could hardly taste the piña or the colado. In fact, we had to stay for dinner because I couldn't walk far. Yes, I'm a light weight.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSOURI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Hilo Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The FOOD was so tasty, somewhere between great bar food and good restuarant fare. Good bar and a local struming some great oldies. Almost no walls let you enjoy the slow moves of downtown Hilo, so quant and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When I walked into the restaurant I was seated within a few mins. There was a band playing which added to the evenings atmosphere.
My 'issue' was the timing of the food. I ordered a soup for a starter and my main course. Both were served at the same time, not ideal. The soup was good, more sweet (Maui Onion Soup) than I was expecting.
Main course - The Fish tacos were ok. I wouldnt order again as there were wasn't a lot of flavor to the shrimp. However very nice plump medium size shrimp were used, not the baby shrimps.
Overall not a bad dinning experience. I would try again, but a different meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.