We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good PuPus Why Bother w/Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine

Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine
332 Kiawe St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
(808)238-5324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good PuPus Why Bother w/Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Michael the bartender usually works nights and is witty, engaging and fun. PuPus were OUTSTANDING - scallops, shrimp, mushrooms and cheese puffs. Sauces made them all different. Have no idea on entrees but...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    72
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton,Ohio USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ran into this place by accident: driving down from a visit up on Mauna Kea we were tired and hungry and saw the sign for "fresh Island Cuisine".They were busy but able to fit us in. We got Coconut crusted Mahi Mahi and Macadamia Lemon Chicken, both were excellent. We split a chocolate decadence which was lovely. The atmosphere was casual and friendly, there was live music but neither loud nor obnoxious. We recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had an enjoyable lunch in this pleasant open restaurant downtown Hilo. We had mostly fresh fish and salads and had fun with a tasting flight of four different Mai Tais. Service was good and friendly. Great ambiance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahaina
1 review
“incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

. The presentation of the food was great, the flavors of the food made my taste buds dance, and the service was very pleasant. Every staff personal was bubbly, attentive and great to have as a server. as an Island girl, I have had a lot of great cuisine on Maui, but non like Pineapples Island fresh Cuisine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big island hawaii
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Disappointed In Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The service was good, comfortable open restaurant. Disappointed in the food. The Maui Onion soup had a strong Kitchen Bouquet flavor and tasted kind of charred. I don't know if they use Kitchen Bouquet or not, but I make a pretty good French Onion soup without K.B. so I know you don't need to use it. The Cheese puffs were like a lead balloon. The cilantro sauce was good but they were not at all "puffs", too heavy and oily taste .Hilo wedge salad was a whole head of lettuce, too much for one person, good dressing though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.