We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Fresh Fish! Hawaiian Music!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine

Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine
332 Kiawe St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
(808)238-5324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 204 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Fresh Fish! Hawaiian Music!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pineapples has fresh fish and local greens. The food is good. Prices are good with the exception of a few items. It is clean and open air and centrally located to downtown Hilo. Clean bathrooms It's decor needs warmth but like I said the food is good and they are friendly. They have a bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    72
    51
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great choice in downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Many of the recommended places in downtown Hilo are either very expensive (Pesto) or really small. Pineapples offers a nice choice, with an ample dinning area. Yes it is on a busy street and its an open air restaurant, but that is also the very reason we chose it. Get some fresh breezes and a good view of the farmers market and water front areas. We found the service very friend and prompt. There were two wait staff helping out on our table and a few others checked to see if we needed anything.

The food was excellent and generous. We had Kahula pork tacos and two burgers, including the amazing pineapple burger. On a side note, they didn't have a kids menu but there were some easy choices for kids including a plain burger and chicken sandwich. Although they were full price ~$9.

This is a great choice in downtown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Ate here both nights of our stay in Hilo. Best ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'm so glad we found this lovely open-air restaurant right after we arrived. Pineapples has a great atmosphere, open-air on a busy street corner, a live musician played both nights that we dined there and was so entertaining. The menu had a great variety of fresh dishes and they run a special every night as well. Tropical cocktails were delicious and really made the tropical dining experience complete. Our server was top-notch both nights as well. She was prompt, friendly and sincerely cared about her tables. We loved it so much the first night, that we returned the second night and enjoyed it just as much. To top off the great experience, the prices were very fair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere does not make up for the food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere- set on a busy street corner. Looks extremely promising. If you want Hawaiian tourist food this is the place. Looking for some thing more authentic, than I suggest you go elsewhere. Decent entree sized portions, but the best part of our meal was the over priced scallop appetizer. $13 for 6 small scallops. Not the best food but definetly not the worst.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow. Amasing!!! Vraiment bon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I went to this restaurant and it was amasing!! My friend has been a cook for over 15 years, she has been able to tell me that the sauce was home made with quality wine. It was really good!! Cheesecake was really good too. I really recommand it to anyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.